Old Fashioned Marmalade

When I first got the canning bug way back in September I would spend many productive hours at work staring at pictures of other people’s canned goods on Flickr. (Yes, I’m just that cool.) One of the first recipes I stumbled across that I simply had to make, then, was this one for Minneola Old Fashioned Marmalade. It seemed like just the sort of thing that the newer, better, canning me should be able to offer with afternoon tea and crumpets.

This past weekend I finally had a clear canning schedule, so old fashioned marmalade was a go.

January 7 2012

I’ve never actually eaten marmalade (that I know of), so didn’t think very hard about what kind of process would be involved in making it. I immediately learned one thing: getting all the pith off the peels sucks. I’m sure there are far more efficient processes to do this than what I’d come up with, but that’s of no use to the me on Saturday morning who feared she’d have horrible, hooked claw hands for the rest of her life. The pain was quickly forgotten, though, because this recipe isn’t about olde-tyme marmalade — it’s about old fashioned cocktail marmalade, so I got to use my newest, favorite ingredient.

Figgy Orange Bitters In Action

Homemade bitters! I had three types to choose from, all bottled in the last week or so, and opted for the figgy-orange ones. They are precious and delicious and I jealously guard them, but I’m very pleased to report that this marmalade recipe was good enough to justify using the dear, dear bitters in.

Vanilla Flecks

The whole thing is so simple and also so genius. It’s sort of the standard marmalade, made out of Honeybell tangelos, with an addition of vanilla bean, rye and bitters. It’s like where orange gumdrops meet my favorite cocktail, only something you can spread on toast.

January 8 2012

And I even got to try out one of the fancy German jars Santa brought me for Christmas. I’m just in love with how pretty this whole recipe experience ended up being. And to top it all off, for the three regular Ball mason jars we got along with that one Weck one, Pookie made perhaps her greatest label yet.

Old-Fashioned Marmalade

It’s all almost too lovely to eat. Almost.

[Posted by Schnookie]

5 Comments

Filed under Canning & Home Preserving

5 responses to “Old Fashioned Marmalade

  1. Sarah

    That is indeed a beautiful and swanky label. When can I expect my invitation to the swanky tea?

  2. Pingback: Photos From the Food in Jars Flickr Pool – Citrus Edition | Food in Jars

  3. Н Е П Р О П У С Т И Т Е !
    Только здесь вы узнаете ИСТИНУ.
    Только здесь вы найдете ИСТИННЫЙ Новый Путь.
    Только здесь вы узнаете, каким будет ИСТИННЫЙ Новый Мир.
    Только тот, кто знает Истину, сможет рассказать об Истине просто.
    Тот, кто не знает Истину, не расскажет о ней никогда.
    Новый Путь – http://vk.com/new_path

  4. Anyone ever heard of these guys?
    WHat is a good place to go to in NYC to repair my laptop?

  5. Ivanactiode

    Мы представляем клиентскую игру нового уровня MMORPG
    Ультрасовременная графика, детально проработанные персонажи и реалистичный
    игровой мир позволят с головой погрузиться в захватывающую эпоху
    Средневековья. Игроков ожидает динамичная боевая система, масштабные
    осады замков и жестокие PvP-сражения в любой точке мира.

    Откройте новый мир битв и приключений
    В игре поставлены на новый уровень сражения и динамика игры
    Рыцари вперёд!
    если ссылка не работает переходим сюда goo.gl/Nop3eP

Leave a comment