Helloooo Henrik Jane!

Almost exactly two years ago, I fell hard for Heather Bailey’s fabric line, “Nicey Jane”. Just as I was wondering what to do with it, I received a generous gift that included the Minick & Simpson pattern “Chippewa Nine-Patch”. At first glance I just knew the two were meant for one another. So I ordered a giant pile of fabric and started to cut a zillion 1 3/4″ squares. Months and months passed without much progress. Finally I had to admit that hand-piecing the whole quilt was not happening. (The pattern does helpfully suggest strip piecing, but two years ago I was still thinking strip piecing wasn’t for me. I was an idiot.) I dragooned Boomer and Schnookie into piecing the rows of the 81-patches that alternate with the snowballs. Turns out the sewing machine sews a lot faster than I do. I suspect this is because it doesn’t stop every hour to look at the “Coming Soon” section of fatquartershop.com while dreaming of the next quilt it’s going to start.

Anyway, the long and the short of it is, thanks to their help, I was able to finish Henrik Jane this summer! Woo-hoo! After a short spell with Mary, The Long-Arm Quilter, Henrik Jane was back at home, ready to be bound and washed. I put the final stitches in last weekend.

Henrik Jane Take 2

I am simply over-the-moon for how this turned out. It seems lots of little pieces combined with low-contrast fabrics is the signature look that’s going to make my quilts famous. Heh. I was concerned at first that the nine-patches weren’t showing off the fabrics well enough, but once I got going on it, I really loved how it ended up looking like confetti. Or an impressionist painting. Or an impressionistic painting of confetti.

Henrik Jane Quilting

There was a long time there where I thought this project would never be finished. I’m so glad I powered through, though. Now, if Henrik Zetterberg ever shows up at Maple Hoo, we can greet him with a quilt he can call his very own.

Henrik Jane

9 Comments

Filed under Pins and Needles, Pommerdoodling, Quilting

9 responses to “Helloooo Henrik Jane!

  1. Sarah

    Eeek! your banner is super spooky!
    I love your Henrik Jane. Very beautiful and the quilting is just gorgeous. I like your impressionist confetti description because I think that’s apt. It’s at once both delicate and lush.

  2. I really like Henrik Jane. The pops of pink go really well with the greens and yellows.

    I’ve been thinking of starting a quilt but it looks so difficult. Maybe it’s the sheer size of a quilt that scares me since I only have a coffee table and tiny side table in my apartment. Whenever I do any sewing I usually do all the measuring and cutting on the floor. How did you guys get started and are there any books or websites that you recommend for beginners?

  3. It’s at once both delicate and lush.

    Awww, thanks! I was having the hardest time putting my finger on how to describe it. Lush is a good word, I think, for these fabrics! And I’m glad you like the banner — I worked hard finding just the right font! :D

    Thanks, kms2! As for starting quilting, you should go for it! Now is a great time to start because there’s been an explosion of interest in quilting within the last 18 months or so. Schnookie and I both started by getting help from someone who was already a quilter. One option would be to look up quilt stores near you; I’m sure someone there would be happy to give you a beginner’s lesson. If you wanted to learn from a book, I’ve heard good things about “The Practical Guide to Patchwork”. I think the best thing I’ve seen in a while, though, is this series of blog posts: SKILL BUILDER SERIES. It’s really straight-forward and has tons of pictures. If it seems like too much information, I’d skip straight to step 4 (Quarter Inch Seams) and step 6a (nine-patches). That’s pretty much all I knew when I dove headfirst into quilting! :D

    As for cutting, one way to handle not having a lot of space would be to try some pre-cuts. Moda Fabrics sells entire designer fabric lines cut into 2.5″ strips (aka “jelly rolls”), 5″ squares (“charm packs”), or 10″ squares (“layer cakes”). They’re nice shortcuts that make cutting a lot more manageable. They have a site full of free patterns using the various pre-cuts, and there are tons of books published with patterns written specifically for them.

    If you have any questions, everyone here at Maple Hoo is more than happy to help! Just hit us up at interchangeablepartsblog[at]gmail.com!

  4. awww thanks for the feedback!! I’ll definitely check those sites out.

  5. Mags

    It is like confetti! Like confetti made of AWESOME.

  6. You’re welcome, kms2!

    Thanks, Mags!

  7. I spent the last week reading so many quilting blogs (and a ton of your archived posts) and I just bought my first quilting supplies from fabric depot and I cannot wait for them to arrive because I found some simple (at least they look simple) free patterns on moda’s website! I have some leftover scraps from past sewing projects so I’m going to practice with those this weekend. I’m so excited!

  8. I’m so excited for you! Good luck!

  9. Bob

    Does anyoone know where to get pics of monsters or giants?

Leave a Reply

