Road Trip!

This past weekend we headed up to Brimfield, MA for the big vintage textile show and the giant antique/flea market. We were looking for adventure and that’s what we got, from sitting in traffic at the GWB, to eating the world’s most delicious french fries, to wandering around the flea market wondering why antiques dealers are always the scariest people on Earth. We came home with a car full of treasures (fabric, notions, mint-condition Pyrex bowls, a Breyer horse for Boomer, and a metal peacock [of course]) and cameras bursting with pictures from Old Sturbridge Village and Brimfield. Here are just a few of the things we saw; you can view the whole set here.

May 9 2011

May 10 2011

3 Comments

Filed under Away From Home

3 responses to “Road Trip!

  1. What a great trip!! I wish I was there. Is the textile show still held in the hotel? Oh, I bet you got some good stuff there. I know I have. I would love to go back to the one they have in the fall. Was that old hockey game any good??

  2. I wish I’d been at your recent road trip! :D The textile show is still at the hotel; there were so many gorgeous antique quilts, but it was too crowded and intimidating to look that closely (and we couldn’t take photos). I was hoping there would be more fabric, but I did score some pretty awesome stuff. As for the hockey game, I didn’t go near it. It was in a pretty weird booth. (Who am I kidding? They were all weird. ::shudder::)

  3. Your observations about antique dealers are hysterical. I sort of “grew up” around them, so they don’t phase me, but I can see your point. They tend to be the type that march to the beat of a different drum. Or just plain weird. Lately, antiquing hasn’t paid well (if it ever did) and now they are weird, badly dressed, and probably living below the poverty line. Their livelihood is defined by the price of gasoline. Yes, a very odd sort, usually with a great eye. The only difference between them and the average homeless person is that they always have a van in running condition.

Leave a Reply

