Oh. Em. Gee.

I’ve been dreaming of the day I could write this post for months, but now that it’s here, I’m almost too overwhelmed to know what to say! In fact, I’m so overwhelmed that the day I could write this post has been since a week ago and I’m only now sitting down to write…

I finished the quilt top for Darla!

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!! ::passes out::

Here it is in all it’s finished-quilt-top glory.

September 7 2010

I almost can’t believe it’s finished — I’ve been working on it on and off for a year and a half! That’s a year and a half of cutting out, marking, hand-piecing, and pressing over 2,200 pieces of fabric. I almost think I might miss this project it’s been such a constant in my quilting life!

There were definitely moments when it seemed like one of those projects that would never, ever be finished. I just hoped no one would ever look under the pile of scraps of batting in the corner of the dining room to find the pizza box full of Darla strips, nor would they look in the back of the stash closet in the guest room to find the stack of neglected finished blocks. Of course, I knew it was there, the telltale stack of fat quarters haunting me every time I started a new project. I’d get all gung-ho about getting this project off the books and in six weeks I’d hammer out three of the 16 blocks. “I’ll finish this quilt in no time,” I’d think, “and then I can work guilt-free on however many new projects as I want!” and then mere moments later I’d realize if I ever saw another 1 1/2″ square of red gingham again it would be too soon. Finally I hit a groove with the final three blocks and I stopped focusing on how much I hated attaching those stupid squares at the ends of every strip, and starting focusing on how awesome it would be to be able to post “I finished the quilt top for Darla!”

The motivation was evidently enough because last Monday night (two days after the deadline I set for my birthday the last time I got a bee in my bonnet to finish it, way back in April) I was able to shout to the world, “I finished the quilt top to Darla!”

Say, have I mentioned I finished the quilt top to Darla?

P.S. The pattern is Sandy Klop’s “Crisscross Quilt” and the fabric is Tanya Whelan’s “Darla”.

{Posted by Pookie}

7 Comments

Filed under Pins and Needles, Quilting

7 responses to “Oh. Em. Gee.

  1. Sue

    Wow…you’re not kidding. This is stunning!

  2. Thanks, Sue! It was a long haul, but it was worth it!

  3. pam

    WOW WOW WOW!!! I love it. Still can’t believe you’re hand piecing!

  4. Thanks, Pam! I’m still sort of scared of the sewing machine (I had some traumatic experiences with an industrial-grade machine during freshman costume design class in college) so hand-piecing it is! :D (It’s really all just about being able to quilt while watching tv, which is a lot easier without a machine.)

  5. hg

    Have you finished that quilt top to Darla yet?

  6. Funny you asked, hg… YES! I HAVE FINISHED IT!!!

  7. hg

    WHOOOOO HOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

    PS. Casa HG is here. NBL is awesome.

Leave a Reply

