Stitching Miscellany

I branched out of the quilting scene recently to make… accessories! I know! Shocking! The thing is, I’d been admiring the Little Folks voile collection by Anna Maria Horner since it came out last Winter. Then Sarah got some and I saw it in person and it seemed every awesomer. But… It just didn’t seem feasible to make a whole quilt out of it (mostly — nay, entirely — because it’s wicked expensive) so I figured I’d never get to enjoy the line, especially not the fabulous berry pink that really spoke to me. Flash forward to last month when I was bored at work and stumbled upon a quick and easy tutorial for making scarves out of 1/2 yard cuts of the 54″-wide voile. Perfect! I ordered two of the berry pink prints, drafted Boomer to do some machine sewing for me, and presto! I had two fabulous, silky soft scarves to spice up the dull cooler months!

Little Folks Scarves

And because I’m a good sister, I made them with the idea of sharing them with Schnookie. Which means I can justify making a ton more of them! Next up will be some light blue plaid ones made out of some French General wovens (side note: who knew the French General wovens would be so insanely soft and delicate? Based on the swatches you see online, it seems like it should be thick, like toweling or something crazy like that). And then after that? Well, I like the voile so much, I figured I’d check out what’s available in tana lawn, since I’d heard it was a lot like voile.

When I think “tana lawn”, I think “Liberty”. And when I think “Liberty”, I think of insipid busy prints of little florals in uninspiring colors. You know, like that Target Liberty bike everyone was all gaga over. So I clicked on the link to Liberty of London’s website without much hope. Turns out I was completely and utterly wrong. Like, I could not have been wronger. Liberty has tons and tons of awesome, spicy prints, many of which have nary a floral motif in sight. While I could have picked ten or fifteen prints, Schnookie and I settled for just three that we both really loved.

Liberty Trees

Liberty Birds

Liberty Pansies

The question is just figuring out what to use for an accent at the end of each scarf. We’re thinking maybe shot cotton? Who knows. All I know is I want to have an excuse to carry that autumn tree fabric around with me at work. Heh.

In other exciting fabric-y news, I entered a Sew, Mama, Sew giveaway and won! Woo-hoo! It was for a book called “Fa la la la Felt”, which seems right up our alley given that something close to 90% of our most cherished Christmas decorations are made of felt.

Giveaway Spoils

The prize booty arrived last night and we all eagerly pawed through the pages like, well, like it was Christmas morning. The verdict? We’re gonna need a bigger pile of felt. Seriously, we want to make pretty much every single project in this fabulous book, from the peppermint candy garland, to the woodland cone things on the cover, to the gingerbread house ornaments.

In yet more exciting stitching news, I made an extraordinary discovery: straw needles. Please, Gentle Reader, try to contain your excitement! I was going to stage a photograph of the new needles, but I didn’t, so just imagine you’re looking at a short, sharp, skinny, bendy silver stick. I’d read online a couple of times that straw needles are the best for applique, so as a treat to my fellow quilt factory workers, I bought a packet to see if they made appliqueing pies and tarts easier. Turns out, they do (or at least they made appliqueing my first dresden plate for Cheeky Dracula City easier, but I assume if I ever get back to working on Pies and Tarts, they’ll work for that too. ::shifty eyes::)! They also make piecing and binding easier! The size 11s bend really nicely, allowing you to rock more stitches at a time. (So, I guess as far as piecing and binding and appliqueing goes, I’m a bender. Hee! Time will tell what I prefer for hand quilting. More on that after the hand quilting class in September!)

So that’s all the excitement stitching-wise here at Maple Hoo. Garden-wise, the exciting news is that we grew this:

Goldy Tomato

Isn’t she a beaut?

{Posted by Pookie}

3 Comments

Filed under Pins and Needles, Quilting

3 responses to “Stitching Miscellany

  1. Mags

    Mmmmm, Liberty. That third Liberty fabric, that’s Miranda isn’t it? I wanted to use some of that for the ties on a dress (this one, in case you’re curious) but the shop didn’t have enough yardage. Which is probably better, because that fabric alone would have doubled the cost of the dress.

    And mmmmm giant tomato. I’ll have some of that, thanks.

  2. Tram

    I love straw needles too! They are the best applique needles I have found. I like them so much I have even started to hand piece with them. You can get a bunch of running stitches on one needle. Yep, they bend, but for applique and hand piecing – not much of a problem. FYI…. they are also called milliner needles and some companies sell them under this name. Those fuchsia scarves are beautiful.

  3. Mags, that dress is adorable!

    Tram, milliner needles, eh? Good to know! And yeah, the hand piecing with the straw needle feels like it goes a thousand times faster because I can load up twice as many stitches! It’s like getting a sports car to stitch with. :D

Leave a Reply

