Quilt Shopping Halfway Around The World

Not long after we decided to go to the Netherlands to visit KtG, there was a quilt featured on the cover of “Quiltmania” that took my breath away. It was a stunning kaleidoscope quilt in rich and vibrant reds, oranges, and yellows. The pattern said it was called “Queen’s Day Quilt” in honor of the Dutch holiday. “No way,” I thought, “I’m going to the Netherlands! What a coincidence!” Then I noticed the fine print at the end of the pattern: “Quilt kits available from Den Haan and Wagenmakers in Amsterdam.” “No way,” I thought, “I’m going to Amsterdam! It can’t be a coincidence! It must be fate!”

And fate it was, Gentle Reader! Delicious, delicious fabric-y fate.

Our last day of vacation was spent in Amsterdam, hanging out with the one and only Mags. Because Mags is such a dear friend and all-around cool person, she agreed to be dragged off to a quilt store even though she’s a knitter (she returned the favor by pointing out that her favorite yarn store was right around the corner, which meant we got to follow up the fabric shopping with some giddy discussions of which new Rowan patterns she should knit). It was probably good we had a non-quilter in tow because we probably would have just stayed forever if given the chance. You see, Den Haan and Wagenmakers isn’t just a quilt store — it’s a quilt store specializing in Dutch chintzes.

Dutch Chintzes in Yellow

Imagine being surrounded by those gorgeous colors and those sumptuous prints! The store was tiny but filled to the brim with absolutely stunning store models and bolts and bolts and bolts of these fabulous chintzes. It was incredibly overwhelming so it was a good thing the shop also stocks kits. Lots and lots of kits.

Kits like “Queen’s Day”:

Queen's Day Quilt Kit

Isn’t it gorgeous? I loved the pattern based on the “Quiltmania” photos, but I had no idea the fabrics were so fabulous. The colors really don’t convey at all. And the fabrics themselves have a totally different feel than the quilter’s cotton I’m used to; they’re almost like a coated cotton, but really soft. The plaids in particular are unbelievably soft; most of the shop models were backed in the plaid and after buying the kits, Schnookie and I both began plotting to order some of the plaids as soon as we got home. Only, when we got home and I unpacked the kit, I discovered a big piece of plaid was already included for the backing! I’m telling you, I was fated to buy this quilt kit!

I also picked up a kit for “Hindeloopen”. That one wasn’t as much fated to be because I neglected to pick up a box that included the pattern. Oops. But it does include some really awesome border fabric:

Border Fabric

There were a lot of prints that were either border fabrics like this one, or prints like American Jane’s four-in-ones, where there were big blocks of three or four prints on the same bolt that were complimentary but in different scales. (I also love the handwriting on the selvage. If I were one of those cool kids who makes string quilts out of selvages, this would be quite the score! Since I’m not, I’ll merely admire it from afar.)

Schnookie also picked up a chintz kit of sorts:

July 24 2010

The box in the store had a picture of a really cool log cabin made out of teensy tiny cuts of the chintzes, but the box itself was just a box of fabrics. They look to be about fat eighth-ish size (the bolts are 54″ or something nutty and European like that) and the possibilities of what they could be turned into are endless! Schnookie’s come up with tons of ideas, but the one I’m pulling for is tiny sawtooth stars. (Also, the picture of the log cabin could be used for inspiration for a future project, but for some bizarre reason Rollie has decided it’s her souvenir from overseas; she curls up in a tiny ball which as little of her hanging over the edge of the paper as possible and sleeps for hours on this increasingly crumbled piece of paper. Go figure.)

The store wasn’t just chintzes, though. There was a second story that was mostly Moda fabrics we can find here in the states. But that doesn’t mean there wasn’t non-chintz fun to be had. Schnookie found a kit that uses traditional American prints to make really cool foundation-pieced stars:

Stars Quilt Kit

We also picked up a packet of what feels like upholstery fabric, figuring we’d never find something like this at home:

Upholstery Fabric

And because we’d come all the way from America, the shop owner gave us each a free fat quarter!

Free Fat Quarters are the Best Fat Quarters

We figured we had to get an orange one in honor of the World Cup madness, and the brown was too lovely to pass up.

If you ever find yourself in Amsterdam, do check out Den Haan and Wagenmakers. You won’t be disappointed. (Now if only I could get my hands on that missing pattern…)

Four Den Haan Kits

{Posted by Pookie}

8 Comments

Filed under Away From Home, Pins and Needles, Quilting

8 responses to “Quilt Shopping Halfway Around The World

  1. Tram

    I knew you would come through for me! Wow! Quiltmania is my favorite magazine and I find myself searching out those fabulous French and Dutch quilt shops that advertise in the back. I have pieces of antique chintz and it is so thin and glossy and fab. Your score looks just like the stuff. I can’t wait to see your projects as they progress.

  2. Sharon (Michigan)

    Do they ship to the U.S.? These are splendid!

  3. Mags

    Hey, there was no dragging involved! I went willingly.

    And Rollie just has great taste :D

  4. Tram, Quiltmania is the best! (Although we did order a book from the ads in the back called “Scandinavian Quilts” which turned out to not include a single quilt; that was a bit disappointing, to say the least!)

    Sharon, I’m pretty sure they said they do ship internationally.

    Mags, I was just joking about the dragging! Hey, finish any new Rowan patterns yet? :D

  5. Sharon (Michigan)

    They do ship to the U.S.!!! Thank you so much for sharing.

  6. You’re welcome, Sharon!

  7. KtG

    I’m sorry I didn’t check this post sooner, Pookie–I could have assured you as early as last week that the pattern for Hindeloopen was on its way. When I called into the shop to ask about it, they recognized right away who we’d been (perhaps my American accent was a give-away?) and agreed to send the pattern right over to me via local post. They said on the phone that they might have had it in English, but as it was, it came in Dutch. That gave me the opportunity to learn some new, very helpful works, including “baste” (rijgen). Since I translated the instructions for you, I’ll feel like I helped you make the quilt, once it’s all put together and fabulous. : )

  8. I’ll feel like I helped you make the quilt, once it’s all put together and fabulous.

    Of course! This quilt wouldn’t be able to happen without you! Also, when I looked at the pattern on the website I discovered it’s based on a quilt at the Zuiderzee Museum. How cool is that?!

Leave a Reply

