Blodd Money City: Living The Dream

I have long been promising myself I’d actually write a post about one of my finished quilts for a change (I tend to finish them and then forget all about them, blog-wise), so here it is: Blodd Money City.

Blodd Money Completed

Yes, I know — that’s a dreadful picture. But you know what’s really hard? Getting good pictures of finished quilts once you’ve put them on your bed and don’t want to take them off and find a nice sunlit place to shoot them outdoors, especially when you took this picture weeks ago when it was rainy and dusky and cold, and yes I’m full of excuses. Also, Favre would. not. move.

So, many months ago I fell in love with the “Ice Cream Quilt” pattern in Kaffe Fassett’s “Quilt Romance” book. It is one of the very rare patterns in a Kaffe Fassett book that I’ve looked at and thought that I could actually make it look better by using different fabrics; in fact, I love the sort of giant log cabin/housetop concept so much that I decided I needed to make a million of them. I became completely obsessed by the idea of it. I’ve got three different permutations of it up my sleeve, and the first one to be executed is this one.

Favre Models Blodd Money

The fabric is French General’s Rouenneries, and the fact is that it is impossible to make an ugly quilt out of this stuff. I had been resisting it on principal for a long time (I think my reasoning was that it wasn’t spicy enough, or that everyone was using it, or something stupid like that), but when I walked into Pennington Quilt Works one day and saw it in person, I promptly pulled all the bolts off the shelf and started planning the order of the rounds on my rooftop log cabin extravaganza.

A quilt like this is almost moronically easy to put together, especially when you’re helped by the pattern in “Quilt Romance” that tells you all the measurements of all the strips you’ll need. If you piece by machine, it would take you about 45 minutes to put this whole thing together. If you’re smart and sophisticated like me, and piece by hand, it’ll take you about an hour and a half. (I should mention here that the pattern in the book makes a dopey size somewhere in the neighborhood of 78″ square, so I planned to add four rounds beyond what was charted. My big plan included a four-inch wide outer round of big, bold, crimson floral print, and the finished size would be a voluminous swath of housetop awesomeness. Right before I got to attaching the last set of strips, though, I freaked out because the quilt top seemed enormous already. We spread it out on my bed and decided it was plenty big, so I put the big, bold, crimson floral print into my stash and called it a day. When the quilt came back from the quilter, though, it seemed significantly smaller than before. The moral of this story is that I should never try to second-guess my quilt planning when I’m in that “Hey, if I don’t add this last bit, I’ll be done already!” mentality at the end of a big project.) The only real trick to this is keeping the seams straight and keeping the whole quilt from getting warped and wonky-shaped. I was mostly successful at that, and had just a little bit of bowing to trim off the edges after it got back from the quilter.

Swirly Quilting

As for the quilting, Mary did an amazing job picking a soft, elegant swirly design that I think plays perfectly with the fabrics and the linearity of the design. For the finishing, I bound it with one of the cream fabrics with small red flowers; it was meant to have a huge contrast with the show-stopper huge red floral that was going to be outer round, but like I said, I chickened out and pulled the plug before it got to that. Regardless, I think this binding choice looks great.

At The Corner Of Blodd Money And Squaresville

If you look very closely at this picture, you can see all the cat hair matting on the surface of Blodd Money City already. This quilt is like crack for the cats. They velcroed themselves to it as soon as it arrived home from the quilter, and haven’t gotten off it since.

So that’s Blodd Money City. The only other story to it is its name. For starters, we have a long-running joke about the blood/blodd typo, so we always ironically spell it incorrectly. (Yeah. It’s ironic now. That’s totally it. It’s not a case of us having written it that way so many times that now we aren’t really sure which way is right…) And I work at a company that does pharmaceutical research, so sometimes the people in my department need blood (blodd? No, the first way’s right) samples to make sure their experiments (or whatever) are working right. (Can you tell I’m not one of the scientist researcher types? Heh. Nope, I’ve got no idea what any of those people are up to. They might just be vampires for all I know.) Those of us who are in the volunteer blodd (no, blood) “donor” pool get reimbursed for our efforts whenever we have anything drawn. And the reimbursement is quite generous, all things considered. Enough to keep a girl in quilt fabric. It just so happened that right after my impulsive purchase of the mountains of Rouenneries, I was called upon at work to give a pretty hefty amount of my precious, precious bloodstuffs, which paid for the whole project.

Rouenneries

From big mountains of fabric, beautiful quilts grow.

Ahh, blodd/blood money. It’s such a beautiful thing.

[Posted by Schnookie]

5 Comments

Filed under Pins and Needles, Quilting

5 responses to “Blodd Money City: Living The Dream

  1. Tram

    Blodd Money City IS a beautiful thing. Brava. I LOVE Kaffe’s books. I could not live with his palette, but I acknowledge a master when I see one. He does bright abstract better than anyone. I even have a stash of his fabrics, despite that I can’t decorate my home with them. Quite a stash too. I mean turquoise swiss chard?!? Please. I had an old book of his (I think it was a knitting book – and I don’t knit) that showed his home in either Morocco or the south of France, can’t remember exactly. Well, the house was covered in broken mosaic tile. Covered. Every square inch. It was unbelievably beautiful, but thinking about living in it was overwhelming. Sensory overload. Anyway, his quilt patterns are wonderful too. You rocked this pattern.

  2. Thanks so much, Tram! I can only imagine how colorful and amazing Kaffe Fassett’s home must be! But yeah, it’s a bit spicy for some of us. Heh. I’ve also got mountains of his fabrics, because I just can’t say no to them; I received massive amounts of the Cabbage Rose for my birthday last year, and am totally handcuffed by it. I have no idea what to make with it. But someday, it’ll be something gorgeous! :D Anyway, I really love using his books for inspiration because they show how well super-spicy fabrics can work in traditional sorts of patterns. So many of the quilts I see using funky modern fabrics are just too, well, contemporary for my taste. Then Kaffe’s quilts scream, “You can smash contemporary and traditional all up together and get something beautiful!” I love that.

  3. That quilt makes me want to wrap myself up in it and watch TV for hours and hours. Which is what I did yesterday, coincidentally. But in a far more inferior blanket – mostly likely made in China. *shudder*

    Blodd Money is BEAUTIFUL!

  4. Thanks so much, Carol! As for watching TV for hours and hours, I’m doing that right now! It’s a bit too humid here for being wrapped up in a quilt, though…

  5. Making money online sometimes can be frustrating, I know what you feel…I’ve been there.

    The most common problem is the lack of a good working system.I want to show you a program that brought me about $975 within just a week from the moment i joined it.

    It’s so EASY to use even a complete newbie can handle it, because there is absolutely no experience required to start and become successful.

    ATTENTION!!! If you are a WEBSITE OWNER you just CAN NOT IGNORE this.

    Click below for more detals:

    ==> http://profit.onmyline.net

    Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

