Another Week, More 365

April 12, 2010

April 12 2010

I’ve been sick for a week and Schnookie kept saying, “You should make some white rice, that always makes me feel better!” and I kept ignoring her. Finally, on Sunday, I agreed that white rice sounded good. And I swear, it was miracle rice. It completely cured me. No joke. So Monday morning I figured another bowl might be the way to go but Schnookie would be at work, whatever would I do?!

Turns out, I would make rice. My first ever pot of rice! Making rice? Not hard! Who knew?! — Pookie

April 13, 2010

April 13 2010

There were teensy-tiny baby kittens for the taking at work today (probably 1- or 2-weeks old) but cooler heads prevailed and Dr. Shopdog did not find herself the proud older sister of Svindal The Kitten. That will have to wait for some other day. When someone brings kittens that are a little bit older. — Pk.

April 14, 2010

April 14 2010

I went to look in the rearview mirror in the car today and got quite a surprise. — Pk.

April 15, 2010

April 15 2010

I was so jealous that Pookie got pictures today of a motorcycle for Scavenger Hunt 101, but then, when we went out to get dinner at Sumo, Pookie turned to me and said, “I’ll go in and get dinner. Do you want to borrow my camera?” And then I looked across the parking lot and saw this. When we were leaving, Pookie laughed, “What is it with all the motorcycles? It’s like there’s something in the air.” And then we realized that, well, there kinda IS something in the air — it’s called “springtime”. I bet it’ll be easy to find motorcycles pretty much from now until October. –Schn.

April 16, 2010

April 16 2010

I recently coordinated a great deal of world travel for my boss’s boss, and when she returned, she told me that she had gotten me a pashmina scarf in Hong Kong out of gratitude. Pookie joked with me that she was positive the pashmina would turn out to be periwinkle, just because it’s periwinkle week. It became something of a running joke for us then, this mythical periwinkle scarf. Well, today I drove over to my boss’s boss’s office to pick up my prize… and sure enough, it’s periwinkle. I miraculously managed not to laugh until after I’d left her office. –Schn.

April 17, 2010

April 17 2010

We have each chosen a project that we absolutely can’t WAIT to start on (Pookie’s is Wendy Slotboom’s Frolic, Schnookie’s is Meadowsweet), but have vowed we won’t start them until the Devils lose in the playoffs. That way we’ll have something to look forward to instead of just being depressed and cranky. We worked on some cutting infrastructure today, though, so both projects are ready to go at a moment’s notice.

April 18, 2010

April 18 2010

Why do people fight against dandelions? They’re so cheerful and bright and friendly! A wide lawn carpeted with sunshiney yellow dandelions is such a delightful sight. These three, though, are not carpeting our yard. They’re just growing near the front steps, outside our laundry room window.

3 Comments

Filed under Project 365

3 responses to “Another Week, More 365

  1. Tram

    Kitties! You are a strong woman indeed.

    I am of the same philosophy regarding dandelions. Just let the dandelions go free, people! Sadly, I am in the minority in this neighborhood.

    You are so smart regarding the new quilt/end of hockey season projects. What a great idea. I think it’s going to fall out that way here, and not by my design. I expect to be working on new quilts very shortly and I’m sure the Wings will play accordingly. But…. Henrik did have a good night last night, so we might get a reprieve.

  2. Sarah

    As you know, I am a huge fan of the cheerful yellow dandelion and also took several dandy photos this week.
    I love your Jackie O. photo-you look oh so stylish!
    And sorry to hear you were ill!

  3. euge

    Dandelions are great! People shouldn’t wage war against them, they should just eat them! (flowers, leaves, roots – all of it!) My mom has a “veggie” plot in the back yard with a mish-mash of things; I think she keeps it just to keep growing the dandelions so she can eat them with her salads or cook them. :)

Leave a Reply

