7 More Of 365

April 5, 2010

April 5 2010

I snagged a few twigs from the Rio Oso Gem peach tree after the trees were trimmed this weekend and tossed them into a bud vase. They opened up gloriously today!

So I took them outside and made the mistake of photographing them with a bunch of different white balance settings and now I don’t know which I like best. D’oh! (The custom setting never looks right in the camera, but I think it’s the one that almost always looks best on the computer. Sigh.) — Pookie

April 6, 2010

April 6 2010

While searching for my lost iPod at work, I found this itsy-bitsy baby turtle (about half the size of my nano) instead. Try as hard as I might, I couldn’t get it to play any Vasen. –Schn.

April 7, 2010

April 7 2010

I wasn’t totally on board with what this pattern was doing to the medium-sized prints in the Darla line, but now I love it. I love how it’s a little impressionistic, and the colors are still totally perfect. I can’t wait to get this one finished and quilted! — Pk.

April 8, 2010

April 8 2010

There are gazillions of red winged blackbirds along my walk to work, but they almost never stay still long enough for me to get pictures of them. Today, this one screwed up, and I got a shot at him. –Schn.

April 9, 2010

April 9 2010

Trying not to give our marbles to the Rangers/Flyers games.

April 10, 2010

April 10 2010

The sunshine was so beautiful today, and the sky was so blue, and the Rio Oso Gem peach tree was a riot of glorious pink blossoms.

April 11, 2010

April 11 2010


We were all craving ice cream cookie sandwiches from Jann’s earlier in the week, when it was so freakin’ hot out. And then we discovered the shocking, horrifying news that Jann’s is GONE. So we had to make our own ice cream cookie sandwiches. They weren’t done in time for the hot weather, but they were still delicious.

3 Comments

Filed under Project 365

3 responses to “7 More Of 365

  1. Tram

    Sorry about the ice cream place. That sounds very sad. Really. Good ice cream is a sacred thing.

    So, does that peach tree have real honest to God peaches on it later in the summer? You might have to go into the peach ice cream business.

  2. Good ice cream is such a sacred thing it was on the very tippy-top of the list of “Reasons We Should Move Back to Jersey” when we living in Arizona (Land of No Ice Cream). Fortunately, we have two-and-a-half other really awesome ice cream places within a 20-minute drive of here. Just none in a five-minute drive. :(

    As for the peach tree, we have grown a large handful or a small bushel of peaches since we planted the first peach tree. How many have we eaten? None. How many have the squirrels eaten? I’d say a large handful to a small bushel. Heh. But the thought of fresh peach ice cream from homegrown peaches is almost enough to make me suggest that Boomer drop all her activities and spend the summer sitting in a lawn chair shooing the squirrels away.

  3. Not true, Pookie! We ate one peach! And it was delicious! It was the size of a walnut, though. So not really THAT memorable. :P

Leave a Reply

