Another Week, One Day At A Time

March 29, 2010

March 29 2010

I’ve been looking forward to my vacation for a long time because I knew it means I’ll have time to cut up the materials to make my Henrik Jane quilt. I have to decide, though, whether I want to use all nine-patches in the accent blocks or use some nine-patches and some bigger squares that show off the bigger patterns better. After laying this out, I think I’m leaning towards all nine-patches. Sure, it doesn’t show off all the prints in the Nicey Jane line very well, but I think it looks pretty cool as is. Now I just need to cut out a zillion more tiny squares.

And then sew them all together. Heh. — Pookie

March 30, 2010

March 30 2010

Today was my first poopy day back at poopy work after our Columbus vacation (Pookie is still on vacation for, like, a month). It sucked. My normal job is working for some very laid-back moderately important people, but I’m filling in these days working for a very demanding VIP. It’s never cool going back to work in the best of conditions, so I was a cranky, cranky crankypants having to go back to work in the worst of conditions. It was also pouring rain and freezing cold all day. So this is the picture for today, taken when I pulled over during my drive home to attempt a shot of how swollen the stream is. It’s a metaphor for the rising tides of my grouchy mood. –Schn.

March 31, 2010

March 31 2010

I went for a mosey around the orchard to see how the apple trees were doing (they’ve got leaves coming in!) and discovered there was a spider spinning a web. — Pookie

April 1, 2010

April 1 2010

So the sixty-four colors color of the week is peach, which everyone suspects used to be what Crayola called “flesh”. We have a few candidates in mind for this not-really-all-that-attractive shade, but before going down the routes of obvious choices, Pookie had a brilliant realization. Sometimes the yellow-orange frosting on the Bent Spoon cupcakes is peach/flesh-colored! Boomer dutifully headed into Princeton to bring some cupcakes home — purely for art’s sake, mind you — but sadly, this week the peach/flesh-tone had not been deployed.

April 2, 2010

April 2 2010

To go with yesterday’s cupcake picture, the ruffly edge of a daffodil.

April 3, 2010

April 3 2010

We love, love, love these little white weedy flower things that grow in with our grass. They go so well with the 100mm lens!

April 4, 2010

April 4 2010

We always seem to be complaining about how not-at-all-pretty our star magnolia is, but today, after finishing our yardfun, we walked past the tree and realized… it’s kinda pretty when you catch it in the right light.

4 Comments

Filed under Project 365

4 responses to “Another Week, One Day At A Time

  1. Tram

    Yes! another vote for all the teeny squares!!!

    Is it bad form to comment here regarding the other IPB blog?? This is in regard to some comments made a few weeks ago on the hockey blog, but oddly enough didn’t relate to hockey per se…..go figure.

    I just got back from a screening of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. I don’t think I have ever seen a movie that so closely follows the book. The well written, exciting, but very grim story translates as dark, Nordic, and explicitly grim, AND no frozen pizza.

  2. pam

    Gosh I love that quilt. Tram is right tiny squares. I love how the snowball blocks really feature one of the motifs. I love the nicey jane but didn’t know what to do with it.. yikes, maybe I should get some now.

  3. OK, tiny squares it is! Thanks, guys!

    Tram, no frozen pizza?! Well, I’m not going to that movie! I’ll wait until the Billy’s People sponsored version of it comes out.

    Pam, Nicey Jane is really, really nice to work with. It’s very soft and the colors are really spectacular in person. This pattern (Chippewa Nine-Patch) is perfect for it, because it shows off the giant patterns without being too simple.

  4. Tram

    Such an awesome quilt, gosh….

    I was at an advanced screening for reviewers, among other people. I’m on the email list of the theater and got in on a “first come first serve” basis. Anyhoo…… this is made by a Swedish filmaker and has Swedish actors and has subtitles (which need a bit of work – some small grammar issues). That said, the MC said it was currently being re-made by Sony. Which means a Hollywood version. OY! No doubt they will try to make Lisbeth cute. The Swedish version of Lisbeth is absolutely right on. Dark. Dark. Dark. And, the Hollywood version will no doubt have lots of Digiorno product placements.

Leave a Reply

