Another Week In The Life

January 18, 2010

January 18 2010

The sugargum balls are wreaking havoc on our deck, taking over everything. They’re like Tribbles, but pricklier. –Schn

January 19, 2010

January 19 2010

We’ve been dancing around the Sixty-Four Colors group since elizabetht first mentioned it, but it’s a pretty intimidating project! Seriously, "sea green"?! Where would we find that?! Well, that all changed when we realized there were two sea green bowls on display in our kitchen (one serves as a drying vessel for some beans we grew this summer). So while the project is still really scary, we’re looking forward to it encouraging us to be a little more aware of the colors lurking around us at any given time.

Now we just need to find ourselves a box of 64 crayons…

January 20, 2010

January 20 2010

I participated in my first-ever fabric swap last week! In addition to sending me some beautiful fabrics, my swap partner, burnabrenna, included these awesome buttons! I knew they’d make a fun photo subject when I saw them. I’ve been totally bitten by the 64 Colors bug, though, because before taking the picture I thought, "I wonder if I should hold off on taking this picture until emerald green comes up…" — Pookie

January 21, 2010

January 21 2010

Today we found ourselves wondering if sometimes we might be too happy. The reason why? We had a long, intense conversation about how we were having spaghetti for dinner tonight, and spaghetti is the happiest food we know of. Not necessarily the best, but the happiest. And we spent all day eagerly anticipating our happy dinner.

Of course, we might also be happy because we don’t have to go to the office tomorrow, because it’s photo excursion time again!

January 22, 2010

January 22 2010

Proof from the Metropolitan Museum of Art‘s Oceanic Arts gallery that the googly eye is timeless. — Pookie

January 23, 2010

January 23 2010

Today we met up in Princeton with Elizabeth and several of her friends. We’re not very social animals, so we were so afraid of meeting people for the first time, especially because we were feeling intimidated by their mad photo skillz. But they ended up not being scary at all — in fact, they were tons of fun to hang out with. We strolled the campus in the cold, then had some coffee, then did a little shopping, then made our waitress at Triumph carry a staggering number of beer sampler glasses up to our table on the upper level, and then we got ice cream at Bent Spoon. It was a fabulous day!

In the dead of winter there’s not much to photograph at Prospect Garden except the cantilevered roof of the restaurant. — Pookie

January 24, 2010

January 24 2010

Somewhat unexpectedly, I finished Blodd Money City today! WOO HOO!!! I love it, and can’t wait to get it quilted!! Also, I can’t wait to make thousands more housetop quilts. My Meadowsweet version of this exact pattern is waiting in the wings, and I’ve got some modifications on it for another quilt up my sleeve. I love this look! –Schn.

2 Comments

Filed under Pictures Worth A Thousand Words

2 responses to “Another Week In The Life

  1. Tram

    I look forward to seeing the whole box of crayons through your eyes.

    What kind of sauce on the spaghetti?

  2. We had to buy a box of crayons for reference, and it arrived in the mail yesterday (what, go to a store?? In person? That’s insane!). It’s not a moment too soon, because I never would have guessed that this week’s color, sepia, is as dark as Crayola thinks it is. This one should be a challenge.

    And the spaghetti was outrageous. This past summer I roasted a lot of our cherry tomatoes with some garlic and froze it. And then last weekend I browned up some sweet Italian sausage to have with the roasted tomato/garlic stuff. We had a little bit left over, so the night I took the spaghetti picture, I made a little smothered/caramelized onion affair, and then mixed that with the remaining tomato/sausage sauce. It was SO GOOD. It ended up being worth a day of being excited for spaghetti! :D

Leave a Reply

