A Week Of 365

We are, as you may have noticed from our sidebar, deeply devoted users of Flickr. And one of the projects we’ve fallen into over there, thanks to our friend Elizabeth’s own Flickr obsession, is Project 365. We’ve been diligently 365ing over at Flickr for about a year and a half now, and even diligently 365ed at IPB this past summer when we were finishing up our first year. This all seemed fine, right up until Sarah started her own Flickr-less 365 over at The Fair View. Now we’re all like, “Dude, even though we’re posting at Flickr, it’s not like everyone in the world is looking at our pictures. And everyone probably wants to see them, so let’s get all bloggy about it!” Because everyone in the world totally reads IPB Living. Anyway, we’re planning now to post a weekly update of 365s, so you can revel in the photographic evidence of every week in our lives. Consider it our gift to you, reader.

January 11, 2010

January 11 2010

The reason for all our bread baking of late? A concerted effort to become more sandwichy. Here, Pookie takes a stab at enjoying a PB&J. It went pretty well, all things considered.

January 12, 2010

January 12 2010

I didn’t find ribbon at the sewing center, but I did find some too-orange trim. — Pk.

January 13, 2010

January 13 2010

Matsui: "Can’t catch me!"

January 14, 2010

January 14 2010

I’ve been on the lookout for signs or billboards to take pictures of for Scavenger Hunt 101. I’ve seen some good choices, but I decided "Men’s Undetectable Hairpieces Sold and Serviced" was the winner. This sign isn’t in the world’s greatest location so I got up super early so I could get there before things got too busy. I freaked out the whole drive there and then freaked out even more when I got there because there were other cars in the tiny parking lot. But being the brave soul I am (riiiight) I got right out and snapped some shots.

Then I hightailed it out of there, sweating bullets! — Pookie

January 15, 2010

January 15 2010

I vowed this morning that I wouldn’t take pictures of the sunrise on my walk to work, because that’s all I ever take pictures of anymore. But then the sunrise stymied me by being utterly gorgeous. Joke’s on me. –Schn.

January 16, 2010

January 16 2010

Last weekend I finished "Deer City" but it was only today that I was able to get a nice sunshine-y photo shoot of it. It’s not a very imaginative project, since I just used the pattern that was designed to sell Joel Dewberry’s "Deer Valley" line. I had seen it in pictures from Spring Market and had fallen into deep smit with it. Piecing the circles was fun (it’s probably a lot less fun if you’re using a machine instead of hand-piecing) and the entire project was shockingly easy and quick. — Pookie

January 17, 2010

January 17 2010


Today we made a prototype of a top-secret project for IPB. Here’s a sneak peek!

8 Comments

Filed under Pictures Worth A Thousand Words, Project 365

8 responses to “A Week Of 365

  1. Tram

    The 365 is a great project. I really enjoyed looking at your photos last year. Keep up the good work.

  2. Thanks, Tram! We’ll try. :D (I am, by the way, REALLY looking forward to having something to hand quilt this summer. That seems like a perfect undertaking to pass the hockey offseason. Just going back to your comments on the last post!)

  3. Tram

    Hand quilting – a great project to look forward to. Think lap size or smaller (like Deer City) but try to stay away from buzy/same value fabric (like Deer City) for your first attempt at marking and hand quilting. I look forward to seeing this project and possibly giving tips.

  4. I think it will be less a case of “giving tips” and more a case of “holding our hands through every step”. :D

  5. i like this idea, of posting the photos here once a week. Project 365 has an abusive boyfriend-like addictive quality though, so be careful!

  6. Yeah, it’s totally like an abusive boyfriend that way. You just can’t quit it, no matter how hard you try!

  7. kms2

    I love the photos! This year I’m taking up sewing. I’ve been contemplating blogging about it, but I’m just so lazy! Maybe one of these days I’ll also take up quilting.

  8. You’re taking up sewing? Awesome! Sewing seems really hard. I feel like there’s more room for making errors in quilting than in clothes. :D

Leave a Reply

