A Winter Wonderland Commute

Ever since we moved to Maple Hoo and I realized there was a bike path running almost the entire length of my commute to the office, I’ve dreamed of being able to walk to work in a gently-falling snow. We don’t get a ton of snow in these parts, so every year when I start to get my annual case of winterlonging, I have these fantasies of fluffy, perfect snowfalls. And every year when winter actually arrives, we instead get a whole lot of cold weather and 34-degree rainy days.

So imagine my surprise when I woke up this morning to see… snow! Fluffy, perfect snow! Enough to cover the roads and branches and just put a thin blanket over the frozen grass, but not so much that it required any special footwear or slogging to get through it. And even better is that I was the only person in my office who didn’t take vacation today, so it kind of didn’t matter at all what time I got in. I didn’t have to get up at 6:00 in the morning to get to work on time! So I had a nice lie-in, then bundled up, strapped on my new headphones, cranked up some Bonnie “Prince” Billy, and hit the road. It was snowing heavily enough that I brought the poopy old Powershot, but I’m still pretty happy with a lot of my pictures.

Snowy Stream

Snowy Gnarled Tree

Snowy Snow Fencing

Snowy Walk To Work

Snowy Christmas Light

Snowy Tree And Path

Snowy Corn Field

Snowy Farm Stand

December 31 2009

Happy New Year!

[Posted by Schnookie]

10 Comments

Filed under Pictures Worth A Thousand Words, Pommerdoodling, Seasonal

10 responses to “A Winter Wonderland Commute

  1. Tram

    My God, Maple Hoo is a magical place. It doesn’t look like it’s within walking distance to anything, but I’ll take your word for it. Happy New Year!

  2. Tram, I work for a huge global company that has a campus that is literally in the middle of a farm field. There are cows on the campus, and the farm stand where they sell the tastiest corn in the world is literally less than a mile from my desk. It’s sort of hilarious. But sadly, not magical. :D

    Happy New Year right back atcha! (I’m so bad with the holiday wishes. It’s like some bad East-meets-West comedy where the characters keep bowing at each other. “Happy New Year!” “Happy New Year!” “No, Happy New Year!” “And Happy New Year!” And so on…)

  3. Schnookie, that’s an ADORABLE picture of you!

    Happy New Year!

  4. Happy New Year to you, too! What a dreamy walk into work. Nicely done.

  5. Thanks, Carol! I suppose you canucks don’t think much of snow, eh? :P

  6. NickyR

    Love the “fluffy snow in the hair” picture! That was always my favorite thing in Colorado when it was snowing. One of the things I miss nwo that I live in coastal California, where it snows like once every 20 years. Happy New Year, and thanks for both the hockey and the non-hockey blogs. You ladies make me smile on a regular basis.

  7. Aw, thanks, NickyR! Sorry about the lack of snow in CA. Maybe this is the year? :D

  8. Sarah

    Liz, that is an adorable picture of you! I love it!

  9. Thanks, Sarah! I secretly only bothered putting this post up because I love that picture so much. (I’m so vain. :D)

Leave a Reply

