Good Things Come To Those Who Wait

Many years ago, Boomer treated all of her daughters to a weekend “boot camp” at a swanky dude ranch in California, where she and our dad had taken swanky vacations long before we were born.

Boomer at Alisal

For a little flavoring shot, here’s Boomer and one of the horses. Sadly, I can’t seem to find the picture of Boomer with the horse named Boomer; the staff at the ranch was very excited to pair the two of them up.

The day we flew in for our dude ranch weekend, we had a little time to kill between deplaning and being able to check in, so we swung through the town of Solvang, which Boomer remembered as having a really good stitching shop. It turned out that the shop was no longer nice at all, and the town was like some supremely crazy twilight zone, but in the course of our few hours killing time there, we did get to enjoy a plate of fresh ebelskivers. And when we found ourselves, a couple of years later, with gift certificates at Williams Sonoma, we decided we totally needed to buy that ebelskiver pan they were selling, so we could make our own. (Because no way, no how are we ever going back to Solvang.)

Smizing Over Ebelskivers

That’s a powerful combination of smizing and crazy eye right there.

Because I don’t like to rush into things, I spent a good deal of time contemplating the ebelskiver pan. Like, years. It sat in a box in the dining room during the kitchen renovation, and remained in that box in the dining room long after the renovation was done. You don’t want to just race willy-nilly into making ebelskivers. That’s something you have to be really ready for.

You can imagine Pookie’s and Boomer’s surprise, then, when I woke up on the first Sunday morning of my Christmas vacation, the world blanketed in beautiful snow, and announced that I was actually going to do it — I was going to make ebelskivers. The horror!

Making Ebelskivers

I had a new ebelskiver cookbook, thanks to a more recent gift certificate-spending trip to Williams Sonoma, and I picked the chocolate chip ebelskivers as my first attempt, taking into serious consideration the cookbook’s warning that it’s probably better to experience the whole process before trying to graduate up to making filled pancakes.

Making Ebelskivers

The recipe was very simple, pretty much the old waffle recipe I’d grown up with. It was a pancakey batter, lightened with beaten egg whites, and then with chocolate chips folded in. The recipe specified using mini morsels, but I didn’t have those on hand, and figured that the Schokinag baking chips I have would melt better, creating a sort of middle ground between “pancakes studded with little unmelted mini morsels” (as the recipe stated they should turn out) and “pancakes filled with molten ganache” (as I really wanted to be eating).

Ebelskivers

As it turns out, the cookbook I had seemed to think I was working with an ebelskiver pan with a larger cup size. And one without a nonstick coating. The first batch was a bit of a disaster, with the burning and the uncooked middles and the too much batter and the unnecessary buttering. The second batch was a tiny bit better. By the time I finished off the bowl of batter, I was beginning to figure this thing out.

Plated Ebelskivers

For the most part, my ebelskivers need a lot of work. If I was trying to sell these bad boys in Solvang, I’d have to do it at quite a discount, because no one in their right mind would pay full price for them. They were misshapen and maladroitly turned in the pans, but I think, if I keep forcing Pookie, Boomer and myself to have to eat plates of cute round pancakes, I might be able to get up to speed.

The lessons learned were that I need to use less batter than the recipe specifies (or get a bigger pan), I should turn the pancakes with knitting needles rather than bamboo skewers, and I need to keep an extremely careful eye on the heat, because the nonstick pan gets crazy hot crazy fast. Until the kinks get worked out, I don’t think I’ll be making molten ganache-filled pancakes. We’ll just have to stick to chocolate chip.

[Posted by Schnookie]

18 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods

18 responses to “Good Things Come To Those Who Wait

  1. pam

    Yum, my mother used to make ‘evil skeevers’ all the time when we were growing up. Sometimes with banana in the middle. She used an ice pick to turn them.. maybe that was the evil part. But I still remember them as yummy.

  2. Tram

    Oh, you have no idea how I wish I was there this morning. I am unfamiliar with ebilskivers, but they look wonderful. Mr. Tram and I unfortunately dined at a new “pancake house” here in Tramville this morning. I asked the harried waitress if they served real maple syrup and was told “Yes, we make it here every day”. That should have been our warning to skedaddle. Unfortunately, we stayed, we ate and Mr. Tram said “You know it’s a bad sign when the syrup is brought to the table with a skin on it.” I would add that all foods brought to the table with a skin on is God’s way of warning you to fast. The rest of the day will be spent trying to mend from breakfast. I will be making a sour cream coffee cake later (with Plugra butter, thank you and organic eggs and sour cream and Honest To God REAL vanilla!) Keep posting your culinary exploits. It nourishes my soul.

  3. Pam, we’re totally going to have to start calling them “evil skeevers”!

    Tram, that breakfast sounds horrific! I can’t get over the “we make the maple syrup every morning”. Unbelievable! That coffee cake sounds divine. Trade ya some evil skeevers for some coffee cake!

  4. I’m not sure we can call them “evil skeevers” unless we’ve got an ice pick for them… which is why we need an ice pick, stat!

    Tram, you’re KILLING me with the sour cream coffee cake! I tried to make our “annual” cranberry coffee cake on Christmas morning (“annual” in that I made it last year and we all agreed we should have it every year), and it was a complete failure. I have been craving sour cream coffee cake ever since. That said, you have certainly earned an edible breakfast! That “pancake house” sounds…. well… *shudder*. I suppose they probably should be proud of their maple syrup, house-made daily, since they probably work very hard putting that skin on there.

  5. Mags

    I admit, I had to google what an ebelskiver even is, because they look strangely like poffertjes to me. And it appears the only difference between them is that ebelskivers are bigger poffertjes.

    My Dad turns poffertjes with these little death sticks forks that look like fondue forks. Maybe get some of those to try flipping them next time?

    And based on my own experience with them, I’m convinced you’re meant to mess up the first batch, so don’t take it too hard if you do :D

  6. And based on my own experience with them, I’m convinced you’re meant to mess up the first batch, so don’t take it too hard if you do

    :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: Thanks, Mags! That’s good to know! And I suppose I can use fondue forks if I refer to them as “death sticks”, because then I can continue to refer to these as “evil skeevers”. Heh. (I figured you would have something similar in Magsland, and was actually kind of worried that I’d post this and you’d laugh and laugh at my lameness, because you’d be all an expert on them. There was, like, a little imaginary Mags sitting on my shoulder when I made these! :P)

  7. kms2

    omg, i got the pan and mix for my wedding!

  8. hg

    Those look delicious! And I bet you could make <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Takoyaki"takoyaki! (Which, upon actually reading the article tells me that the pans are similar to æbleskive pans. Aw man… I thought I was on to something! Damn Wikipedia….)

    AND MERRY CHRISTMAS! HAPPY BOXING DAY!

  9. kms2, now you HAVE to make them! Or, be like me and wait a couple of years. But either way, you have to let me know how they turn out! :D

    Awww, hg, I believe you that you figured it all out on your own! And MERRY CHRISTMAS AND BOXING DAY to you too!

  10. hg

    Look at that awesome job of HTML! I suck! I might have some flickr questions for you as I sort through the 923 photos I took on my holiday! hee hee!

    AND HAPPY NEW YEAR!

  11. Only 923 photos? Why, that’s nothing! I can’t wait to see them!! (I hope we can answer your questions about flickr…)

    OH YEAH! HAPPY NEW YEAR TOO!!

  12. I’m so glad I found your blog, I came over from Minnick and Simpson. You have some wonderful posts I’m going to have to read through.
    Happy new year.

  13. Thanks so much, Janet! I’m glad you’re enjoying our blog! Happy new year to you, too! :D

  14. And now I know what an ebelskiver is, and now I want one! And I like Pam’s mom’s ice pick tip (it’s so very Dexter with food!).

  15. I will definitely have to channel my inner Dexter next time I make these.

  16. Great blog. I’ve put you on my favorites list and will check back often. Quilts and gardening, my two favorite hobbies. I’ve been quilting a lot longer than I’ve been gardening, but really enjoyed the fresh veges last summer.

  17. kms2

    I went through the mix immediately. I haven’t made any since because I don’t know what the recipe is for the batter….I suppose I could just find one on the line. But they’re amazing!! I need to buy some nutella because I bet it would be heavenly with the ebelskivers.

  18. I am SO glad the ebelskiver mix was so good! Also, I’m proud of you for not taking two years to make it. You’re a better person than I am! :P (And I am also beginning to think that my life is woefully short on Nutella. We went to an Italian restaurant in NYC this past week that had “Italian s’mores” on the dessert menu. It was basically graham crumbs spread out over the bottom of a ramekin, then a thick schmear of nutella over that, then baby marshmallows on top, all broiled until the marshmallows were toasty. It was CRAZY. Maybe you can make s’more ebelskivers?)

Leave a Reply

