It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas — In Quilt Form

One of my favorite things about cross-stitching was making quick little seasonal pieces, especially Christmas stuff. When I started quilting I thought I was going to have to give that up because surely no one was out there making fun, funky, and beautiful seasonal fabric, especially not Christmas fabric. Surely all the Christmas fabrics would be either boring calico reproductions or cheesy puppies in Santa hats. Well, Gentle Reader, it turns out I was basing this idea on my experiences of the kinds of fabrics Boomer had in her stash (in her defense, I think the puppies in Santa hats was included in a scrap pack of slightly nicer stuff) and not based on the fabrics available to me. It didn’t take much time for me to discover there is, in fact, a wealth of awesome Christmas fabric just waiting to be made into festive quilts! Upon making this discovery, I decided I must have a Christmas lap quilt to drape over my footstool on Christmas morning when I do the traditional “divvying up of the presents for opening”. And upon seeing “Have a Sheri Berry Holiday”, I decided that quilt must be retro, sassy, and cute.

Have a Sheri Berry Holiday

“Have a Sheri Berry Holiday” fabrics designed by Sheri Berry

It was around this time that I saw Elizabeth Hartman’s “Sawtooth Star” pattern on Sew Mama Sew. The stars were a perfect fit for a Christmas quilt, the pattern looked easy and fun, and Kona cotton was on sale. Perfect! Also perfect? I realized I had twice as much fabric as I needed, so I was able to offer to make an extra for Patty (in Dallas), who has impeccable taste in retro stuff (check out her vintage school clock collection in her blog header!). I got down to work in July, made two stars, and then… got distracted by other stuff. As is my wont. Sigh.

Anyway, something possessed me to get back to it at the end of August and then Schnookie asked to make a few stars, and then before we knew it, we were splitting the work 50-50 and ripping through both quilts at a rapid rate! In fact, it was such a rapid rate, we got them both pieced and handed off to Mary the Long-Arm Quilter before her Christmas deadline. There was much rejoicing! (And by “much rejoicing” I mean, there was much starting of new projects because that’s what you do when you finish one project; you can’t just go back to the same old UFOs!)

The Sheri Berry Christmas Star Quilt

It snowed just to give this quilt an appropriate background! Honest!

I could not be more pleased with the final result. It’s so Christmasy, so retro, so fun. It looks especially good in both snow and by the light of the Christmas tree. And it seems warmer and more festive than any other quilt I’ve made. It’s like it has everything wonderful about Christmas quilted right into it!

The pattern allowed for lots of fun with the fabrics, as some stars are solid, some have a solid center with different points, and some have alternating points with four-square centers.

Santa Star 1

Santa? Is that you?

Ornament Star

Love those old-school ornaments!

I bound the quilt in one of the blue fabrics with tiny snowflakes, and backed it an exuberant print of circles. (Patty brilliant chose the pink with blue snowflake-y stars for her backing, and it looked extraordinary. I bound hers in the same small snowflake print, but in pink.)

Deer Star and Backing

In just three days, I’ll find out if my dream of stacking presents on a footstool draped with this quilt will be as awesome in real-life as it seems in my head. But until then, I’ll just sit here snuggled under my awesome Christmas quilt. And then after Christmas, I’ll start thinking about what I can do with Sheri Berry’s next Christmas line, “12 Joys of Christmas”… Maybe presents will be better stacked on top of two star quilts…

14 Comments

Filed under Pins and Needles, Quilting, Seasonal

14 responses to “It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas — In Quilt Form

  1. Heather B

    Oooooh, gorgeous. That fabric is so adorable!

  2. I just love mine, too! The prints are so cute-retro and the colors are perfect.

    I showed it to everybody in my family and they want me to send you their orders! :D

  3. Sue

    Love, love LOVE the retro fabrics!

  4. Tram

    Lovely! Merry Christmas Present Handing Out Quilt Thingy!

  5. One of the best uses I have seen of these fabrics – your quilt is just adorable!!!

  6. Thanks so much, everyone!

    Heather, I have some scraps leftover — you could make a collar for Marlowe!

    Patty, I’m so glad you love your quilt; I hope it brings lots of winter cheer to your home (even if it clashes terribly with your awesome couch).

    Sue, aren’t the fabrics just adorable? Sheri Berry is a genius at making stuff that’s almost unbearable cute, but also still totally usable.

    Tram, thanks! I might need to find a catchier term that “present handing out quilt thingy”. I need to work on that.

    Lisa, thanks! I know (or know of) lots of people who’ve picked up some of this fabric, but I haven’t actually seen it in action anywhere. I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled.

  7. ZOMG. So dreamy. I just love it. Those oldie-time ornament fabric are the best.

  8. Heather B

    Oooh, I love the mittens on the 12 Joys of Christmas. I really, really need to learn to quilt.

  9. Carol, the ornament stuff really is fabulous. The ornaments were scaled perfectly for this pattern, too. That was a nice thing to discover!

    Heather, we can make that happen!

  10. Bev

    Hello!
    We LOVE your blog and have added it to our Blog favorites and linked up. Your pictures are gorgeous and inspiring! Happy New Year and cheery wave from Bev
    http://44thstreetfabric.blogspot.com

  11. Your quilt. The stars. The fabric. The snow. I love it! If you don’t mind, I’m just going to park myself on your blog and stare for a while.

  12. Hee hee, thanks Happy Zombie! Just don’t bring too much of that Oregon sun with you. :D

  13. I am in LOVE with this quilt. It’s fantastic!

Leave a Reply

