Using A Muffin Tin To Change Our Lives

So the other day I was poking around the New York Times online, killing time, and for some reason, I decided to check out an article in the food section about Thanksgiving side dish recipes. I already knew what I wanted to make for Thanksgiving, so it wasn’t even like I thought I was open to new ideas. But it must have been fate. Because what I found there rocked my world:

They suggested baking stuffing in muffin tins.

Stuffins

I am never not going to bake my Thanksgiving/Christmas stuffing in muffin tins. NEVER. You get perfect little serving sizes of stuffing encased completely in crunchy edges, and they’re just tailor-made for snacking on as cold leftovers. All I did was put a little dab of butter on the top of each stuffing muffin, gently poured a tablespoon of turkey stock over each (per the NYT suggestion, and chicken broth would work fine here), and then baked for about 45 minutes at 350. I think they would have been crustier if I’d baked them for a shorter time in a 375-degree oven, and I’ll be finding out how that works in just a few weeks. The highlight of Christmas foodstuffs at Maple Hoo has always been the mimosas, but this year I think the stuffing muffins (or “stuffins”, as we ended up calling them after finishing off a bottle of champagne) might be the king of the holiday menu.

[Posted by Schnookie]

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Using A Muffin Tin To Change Our Lives

  1. Tram

    Okay, you are the second person in the last 2 days that has told me about this. They said it was an Ina Garten recipe. Crunchy, carbs with turkey flavoring?? What is not to like?

  2. “Crunchy, carbs with turkey flavoring”? That’s pretty much stuffins in a nutshell!

  3. the only problem, which I just realized, which may also be a personal problem for me, is that I generally eat a WAY bigger pile of stuffing than these muffins. WAY bigger. I have a stuffing problem.

  4. I have the same problem, elizabeth. So I am definitely lying when I say that a single stuffin is a serving size. For me, a serving size is, like, five stuffins. For starters.

Leave a Reply

