Schnookie’s Progress Report: Jellygirl

After Little Miss Threads-of-Fire finished her Nest quilt like two minutes after starting it, I felt the pressure mounting. I needed to get a quilt project done, or all my fragile feelings of self-worth would be shattered. Well, that might be an exaggeration, but I did really want to keep pace. I’ve proven myself to be, over the years, a fickle handicrafter, undertaking huge, expensive projects and then wandering off halfway through when I get distracted by whatever shiny new object has appeared on the scene. I’m also very susceptible to project envy, where no matter how nice the thing I’m working on is, I feel whatever Pookie’s doing is better. As Pookie made arrangements to take Nest over to meet the quilter for finishing, I started to get flopsweats. I needed to measure up!

And… I did. Behold! I give you Jellygirl!

My First Finished Quilt Top!

My undertaking of this project was actually spurred by Pookie-project envy — she was working with all those funky, cool fabrics on Nest, and I was working with stuffy old grandmother prints on my Figgy Pudding quilt. I kept flipping through the fabric catalogs and looking at the hyper-girly pinks and aquas in Tanya Whelan’s “Ava Rose” collection and wistfully dreaming of working on something with fun fabrics for a change. After a lot of whining, I finally decided that life is too short to resent the project you’re not working on, so I trotted down to PQW and bought a stack of fabrics from the rack with Ava Rose (there are some of Whelan’s “Barefoot Rose” patterns in there too).

Ava Rose Stacks

I opted to use the fabrics in the Fig Tree Quilts Jellygirl pattern, and it went up in a crazy hurry. 29 days after starting, I triumphantly put in the final stitch, just in time to tag along on Pookie’s Nest-finishing appointment to get my magnum opus quilted up, too.

jellygirl-done

I love it. I am so delighted with the almost over-the-top cuteness of the colors, with the way the polka-dot background turned out, and with the quiltiness of the way the design came together. I like that the patterns are just a hair too big for this kind of treatment, that some of the pieces are just hints of the fabric design rather than nice little patches of calico-sized prints. I especially love the quality of the fabric — it was impossibly soft and just a dream to work with.

All of that said, I’m so glad I’m done with this project because it made me miserable. I don’t understand what the problem was. I loved the fabrics, loved the pattern, loved the process of assembling it… but the longer I worked on it, the more unsettled this Jellygirl quilt made me. Even though I never encountered a single problem while working on it and the whole thing came together in a snap, it was just off. We finally decided that somewhere along the way, this quilt picked up a Jonah, like the bad-luck sailors of yore. There was nothing to be done but persevere through the doldrums and hope the Jonah would work its own way out. It never really happened, so I hope the quilter doesn’t have the same problem with it. I probably should have warned her. Heh.

As soon as all my stitching was finished, though, and I unfurled the quilt top to see what it would look like as my cozy curled-up-in-front-of-hockey-on-TV blanket, my Jonah-borne unhappiness disappeared. I guess that’s just a process problem, and now I can’t wait to cheer on the Devils from under my new First-Ever Finished Quilt. (It should be noted that in the days since finishing this, the Devils have won two heart-stopping, amazing, unbelievable come-from-behind games against huge-time opponents. Maybe that Jonah was good luck?)

[Posted by Schnookie]

10 Comments

Filed under Progress Reports, Quilting

10 responses to “Schnookie’s Progress Report: Jellygirl

  1. Mags

    I have mad craft-envy! Good thing you managed to get over the Jonah-iness of it and finished it because it is absolutely FABULOUS.

  2. Thanks, Mags! And if it’s any help with your craft-envy, every time I look at your gorgeous knitting projects, I look back sadly at whatever I’m working on and pout. The grass is always greener on the other side for me. :D

  3. Meg

    And then there are those of us who are not remotely crafty but wish we could have the things you all make. :D

    The quilt it gorgeous, Schnookie. Normally I’m not a fan of floral anything, but in this pattern the prints look absolutely lovely.

  4. Thanks so much, Meg! I surprised myself by falling in love with these fabrics, because they are really, really, really not my thing. Maybe that’s where the Jonah came from — my regular sense of style was raging against this project! :P

  5. It really turned out beautifully! I can’t wait to see it all quilted up.

    If you finishing that helped the Devils win, maybe I should do something for the Canucks?

    Nah. I’m still to mad at them to bring out the sewing machine. BOO!

    So, what will you do next?

  6. Thanks, Carol! And I’m not sure the Canucks really deserve you bringing out the sewing machine for them. I mean, there’s just a point where the fans have to say, “You know what, losers? I’m not going to wear my lucky socks for you today. You’re just going to have to figure out how to win on your own!” :P

    Next up is what we’ve been calling “Squaresville”. I’m already about halfway through piecing the checkerboard part in the middle!

  7. It’s soooooo pretty! I love cutesy, vintage, pinky florals. I’ve been searching high and low for some for my bedding, but it looks like I’m just going to have to make one myself. Yours is so adorable!

    (Note: I probably won’t actually make one myself.)

  8. Thanks, Patty! Someday I’ll totally make a flowery, pinky floral quilt for you — just as soon as I’ve got too many for myself. :D

  9. Pamela S.

    Schnookie, its gorgeous! It really looks complicated and detailed and the pinks and polka dots make it so inviting. You all inspire me to be a better quilter and I enjoy seeing your creations. Hmm, maybe its time for a pink quilt for moi!

  10. Thanks so much, Pamela! And I think everyone should have a pink quilt. I didn’t think I needed one until all of a sudden, there it was. :D

Leave a Reply

