Recipe Sharing!

Since Schnookie is very much the cook in our family, when recipes get shared they’re usually shared with her. But every once in a while, a recipe is passed along to Maple Hoo with the intention of me trying it out. Such was the scene last month when Sue from Liv ‘n Laf emailed me with several delicious spritz cookie recipes! Woo-hoo! My intention had been to try all three recipes out this Christmas season but then one thing led to another (i.e. I was lazy, everyone got cookie-ed out, and I got sucked into a new craft [more about that soon]) and in the end I can only report on one of them. But that one? Was awesome! (Well, sort of.)

One of the three recipes Sue sent was for “Christmas Trees”, almond-flavored spritz cookies using the tree shapes. What drew me in was the addition of green food coloring. How is one supposed to resist?!

Green Christmas Trees

Sue’s recipe was fabulous, and having had a bit of practice with the cookie press, I knew exactly how to attack the problem of pressing the cookies onto trays. Into the oven they went, and out of the oven they came perfectly baked and delicious. (Well, sort of.)

Schnookie's Perfect Cookie

The other day, Patty (in Dallas) complained in an email sent about recipe sharing, about when you give someone a recipe and then they go and change out ingredients and then complain that it didn’t taste good. I was like, “Yeah, that’s awful! Who would do that?!” Uh… Turns out, I would. You see, for some reason, I considered green Christmas cookies and thought, “They should be mint flavored!” So instead of using the almond extract that Sue’s recipe called for, I substituted some peppermint extract.

Finished Christmas Tree Cookies

You know what shouldn’t go in these cookies? Peppermint extract. Boomer and I both agreed they were edible but Schnookie declared them to be like eating toothpaste and wouldn’t go near them. Obviously, the almond extract was the way to go. Oops. Serves me right for substituting ingredients in a recipe that was sent to me! Next time, I will not be straying from the printed recipe, I promise! Sorry, Sue! (The dough, other than the wrong flavoring, was perfect. So I know this recipe, when done correctly, will be a keeper! Thanks for sending it along, and I promise not to screw up the others when I try them!)

Sue gave me permission to write up all three recipes here, so go forth and press cookies, Gentle Reader! And remember — follow the instructions! Or at the very least, don’t use peppermint!

Christmas Trees

Heat oven to 375 degrees.
2 1/4c. sifted flour
1/8 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 c. shortening
3/4 c. sugar
1 egg
1 tsp almond extract
green food coloring

Sift together the dry ingredients. Cream the shortening, and add the sugar gradually. Add the egg, sifted dry ingredients, almond extract and food coloring and beat until combined.

Fill cookie press. Form on ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake for 10-12 minutes

Chocolate Cookies for the Cookie Press

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

3/4 c. shortening
1 c. sugar
2 squares (1 oz each) unsweetened melted chocolate
2 tblsp milk
1/2 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt
2 c. flour

Cream shortening; gradually add sugar and beat well. Beat in egg, chocolate, milk, vanilla and salt. Gently, but thoroughly stir in flour. Put through cookie press. Bake 8 to 10 minutes.

Norwegian Crowns
Preheat oven to 375 degrees

1/2 c. butter
1/4 c. sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp almond extract
1 1/4c. sifted flour

Cream the butter. Gradually add the sugar, then egg and almond extract. Add sifted flour.
Fill cookie press. Form cookies on ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes.

(Side note from Sue: “Beside the wreath form, I use this one for the ribbon attachment and press each cookie to about 3 inches long.”)

Thanks again, Sue, for passing your spritz cookies along!

6 Comments

Filed under Cookie, Cookie, Cookie Starts With C

6 responses to “Recipe Sharing!

  1. Sue

    How boring life would be if we always stayed within the lines!

  2. In this case, stayling inside the lines would have been tastier, though! :D Thanks again for the recipes!

  3. Meg

    Well at least the cookies look fantastic (although the mint flavoring does sound kind of gross).

  4. Spritz cookies shaped like Christmas trees remind me of my childhood. I’m going to make my mom send me her cookie press and her tree and wreath shapes!

    Peppermint extract might not have worked, but have you tried Miracle Whip? :P

  5. Peppermint extract might not have worked, but have you tried Miracle Whip?

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::: I think getting the press and the shapes is a great plan, because these cookies, with the right ingredients, will be awesome!

Leave a Reply

