Greetings From Another Finished Project!

Saturday night saw another project finished, this time “Greetings” from the Blackbird Designs holiday book, Peppermint & Holly.

Greetings

I’ve been eyeing this one for years, and am so excited to have finally gotten around to making it up. I love the muted tones — it was worked in Gentle Arts and Weeks Dye Works overdyed floss — which are such a departure from the norm around here (i.e. it’s not Prairie Schooler Santa Red). I love the holly branches, the snowflakes, and the bird. I love the fact that it’s a Christmas piece that’s all about flowers (although I was a little weirded out to notice that the chart says it’s an amaryllis, not a poinsettia).

I especially love the font for the writing:

Greetings Detail

There’s only one problem with it. When I put in the last stitch on the “s”, I held it up for Schnookie to see. She said, “Oh. It only says, ‘Greetings’? Not ‘Season’s Greetings’?” I can honestly say I hadn’t considered that once. Not when I admired the project in the book, not when I was stitching it, never. And now? It’s all I can think of. I think I’m going to go around wishing everyone “Greetings” this holiday season, just to prove to Schnookie that it’s what Christmas pieces are supposed to say.

Now that the project is done (what did that take? A week and a half? Sweet!) I’m embarking on those Prairie Schooler Kris Kringles. Because I can only handle muted colors for so long.

Posted by Pookie

10 Comments

Filed under Pins and Needles, Stitching

10 responses to “Greetings From Another Finished Project!

  1. Oh, Pookie – this is so beautiful. You really outdid yourself this time. I love the pattern and your thread colors are magnificent! What a beautiful pattern.

    Good luck on the Kris Kringles! I ordered the Prairie Schooler Old World Santas II for next year’s ornaments. :)

    I also wanted to drop by to make sure that it’s not a problem that I add Stately IPB Manor to the great long Christmas card list this year. I didn’t think it would be, but you never know (one relative is requesting no cards this year to be ‘eco-friendly’).

  2. Not accepting Christmas cards because you want to be “eco-friendly”? That sounds like cutting off your nose to spite your face! The hell?? Who does that??? :P

  3. Aw, thanks for the compliments, Caitlin! I also love the Old World Santas; I can’t wait to hear how they go! Their santas are so, so, so much fun to stitch.

    Also, how hard is it to recycle the Christmas cards by using them for decorations in following years? Sheesh! In other words, we’d love to get Christmas cards!

  4. I have no idea! I think it’s because said family member gets a deluge of cards every year and doesn’t have the time (really) to do anything with them.

    It’s good to know you’re as committed to tree-killing as I am, -Ookies! :D

  5. The more trees the merrier, Caitlin! That’s my motto! (We’re also a committed real Christmas tree family. I love that we cut down a live tree to decorate with tchotchkes and lights for a few weeks before our township mulches it. LOVE IT!)

  6. hg

    Fake trees are the bane of my existence.

  7. I haven’t had a real tree in years.

    My dad worked in civil engineering and the like for years when I was a kid, so our breaking point on real trees was one year when we brought a real tree home and my dad spent HOURS bitching, moaning and trying to fix the damn tree because it wasn’t plumb.

    Sure, it wasn’t plumb, but it didn’t bother anyone else but him.

    After that, my mother swore she would never have a real tree again because artificial trees are ALWAYS plumb. Thus, I’ve only had the joy of decorating artificial trees since then (I wouldn’t know what to do with a real one)!

  8. Oooh, the paternal insistence on a plumb tree. That is THE WORST! Our dad wasn’t even an engineer, so he had no excuse. Now we have a tendency to bring home horribly lopsided trees and then put them up at a terrible slant, but we don’t care. I mean, since when are we perfectionists? :P

  9. Yeah, but I think this horrible real-tree experience will cause me to be an artificial tree person for the rest of my life. The horror! I know.

    Now we have a tendency to bring home horribly lopsided trees and then put them up at a terrible slant, but we don’t care.

    Slanty trees have more character! :D

  10. Ralph

    Where can I find this chart? I like stitching a lot of their designs. I believe it might be in the Peppermint and Holly Book

Leave a Reply

