Vanilla-Basil Gimlet

I recently had some leftover vanilla pods, after scraping the seeds out for baking. The obvious thing to do with them, of course, was to make vanilla syrup, and then use it in cocktails. So I dropped the seeds into some simple syrup while it was still hot, let it steep for a while, then strained it all and put the syrup in the fridge while I perused my cocktail books.

After much leafing listlessly through pages and pages, I found something in the 2007 edition of Food & Wine‘s cocktail book: a basil-lime gimlet.

Basil For Drinks

Basil I’ve got. Limes I’ve got. Vodka I’ve got. And instead of plain syrup, the vanilla syrup was ready to go. Perfect!

The recipe, in my adaptation, calls for 3 basil leaves (plus more for garnish), 1/2 oz. of vanilla syrup (or plain syrup, if you must, but remember! That’ll make just a plain basil-lime gimlet! It won’t be the same at all!), 2 1/2 oz vodka and the juice of one lime.

Basil Muddled

In a cocktail shaker, muddle the basil leaves with the syrup. Then add the vodka, lime juice, and some ice. Shake vigorously, and then strain into a cocktail glass. Garnish with additional basil leaves, and voila! Smooth, a little sweet, a little tart, delicious, and did I mention smooth?

Basil-Vanilla Gimlet

(Post by Schnookie)

10 Comments

Filed under Drinky-Drinky

10 responses to “Vanilla-Basil Gimlet

  1. hg

    1. Muddle is a great word.
    b. Gimlet makes me think of giblets.

  2. LizD

    So what does it say about me that I always look forward to your drinkie-poo entries? And, can you teach Morgan how to make my drinkie-poos? I think that would make my life complete.

  3. HG, I agree on both counts. I’ve never had a gimlet before (I also think of “gimlet eye”, and then think of “giblet eye”, and crack myself up), and I kind of doubt this girly, fruity drink has anything to do with actual gimlets, but seriously! Gimlet/giblet! I can’t get enough of just the words! And muddling is not only a fabulous word, but it’s fabulously fun, compared to the preparatory steps involved with most cocktails. I love to muddle. In drinks and in life.

    Liz, I’m glad to know we’re not the only lushes around here! :P (And I promise I’ll start working on subliminally encouraging Morgan to become your personal drink butler. With time, he’ll think he came up with the idea himself.)

  4. I love your post timing. The post about alcoholic beverages appears on a Friday when I have ALL weekend to enjoy this beverage. YES!

  5. hg

    I was thinking the other day of drinky-drinky and now that it’s close to egg nog season, Mr.A will be making his super duper egg nog concoction!

  6. Oooooooh basil in a cocktail!!!!! How marvelous!

  7. OMG, how do you stop at 1? (or 6…seriously, if I could get up and make another, I would.)

  8. I’m so glad you liked it! I had to stop at 1 because I didn’t have any more limes! :D

  9. Well, I did have to come up with another recipe for dinner since I’d used all my limes in beverages instead of on the Salmon and in the cous cous.

  10. I think you had your priorities right, Chaz! That’s certainly the choice I’d make!

Leave a Reply

