Progress Report: MFBville Week 11

No, Gentle Reader, I didn’t skip a week of progress — I merely omitted a week wherein I did almost zero stitching. Sigh. It was terrible. I just hit one of those crazy weeks where looking at a chart, let alone threading a needle and figuring out where it needs to go, is just waaaaay too much to handle. Only that week lasted about a week and a half. So all I have to show for the last two weeks of working on “MFBville” (aka “The Village of Hawk Run Hollow”) is this:

MFBville Week 11

One half of one square that could not be easier. When I started this project I targeted this square as being the one that would go up the quickest. When I saw it was the next one up when I finished the last square, I was like, “Woo-hoo! Freebie square!” It was all text! And easily-countable trees! It should’ve taken me a week tops! And here it is, two weeks later, and I’m not finished. I’m a sorry excuse for a stitcher!

Fortunately, the overall piece is still looking good.

MFBville Week 11

The previous four squares all had little fun details to focus on. Fireplaces, bird’s nests, snakes. This one? Not so much. It’s pretty dull. So it was only understandable that the project looks like this now:

Threaded Needle

That’s right, I put it down and picked up something else instead. Something that’s choc-a-bloc with fun details. Something that has some kick-ass colors. Something that I had pretty much promised myself I wouldn’t start until the hockey season starts.

When Witches Go Riding

Something Prairie Schooler Halloween! I finally decided I couldn’t wait any longer! Can you blame me? Look at these threads!

Belle Soie Threads

I wasn’t totally sold on the Belle Soie the first time I used it, so it remains to be seen what I’ll think of it this time around. This officially means I’ve failed already on my goal to have two more Squaresville squares done before the hockey season starts, a mere two weeks after I set that totally-achievable goal. But… Look at that orange! Have you ever seen a more exciting Halloween orange?!

11 Comments

Filed under Pins and Needles, Progress Reports, Stitching

11 responses to “Progress Report: MFBville Week 11

  1. It totally kicks ass next to the blue too!

  2. It’s actually a dark khaki-y brown, but it looks really blue in that picture. It’s making me think that doing it on a medium blue linen would have been really cool!

  3. Wow! I never would have guessed that wasn’t blue. Anyway around it, the colors look very fallish. AND since fall=hockey….

  4. Exactly! Fall=hockey… This piece=hockey! Woo!

  5. It really DOES look blue, and that would SO be a cool linen choice. Take note, stitchers out there who are thinking of doing this piece! :D

  6. AAH! I love that chart! I’m so excited to see what it looks like…

    Gorgeous linen color. :D

  7. I wish Pookie had waited a few days before finalizing her photo choices for this post, because she’s got the top border done already on this now, and it looks AMAZING. Way better than I expected. It’s going to be SO AWESOME!

  8. I wish Pookie had waited a few days before finalizing her photo choices for this post

    I have a system! I use only photos taken on Sundays. That way I can tell exactly how much progress I’ve done each week. It’s very scientific. I’ll take a picture of the top border tonight, maybe. It really does look awesome!

  9. I have a system! I use only photos taken on Sundays. That way I can tell exactly how much progress I’ve done each week. It’s very scientific.

    ummm…seriously scary. Remove Sunday and insert Friday and that’s how I roll.

  10. Hee hee! Nice, Chaz! I knew y’all would understand!

  11. Doh! Cute little pumpkins. Good choice for this project.

Leave a Reply

