Progress Report: MFBville, Week 9

With “November Windows” packed up and sent off to the framer, it’s back to MFBville for me! I’ve now worked on “Village of Hawk Run Hollow” for nine weeks, and have almost four squares finished. The latest one is the blacksmith square. You know, the one with all the stupid-amount-of-color-changes horses? Yeah, that’s the one! Thanks to my perseverance with finishing the horses before putting the project down, I was able to hit the ground running with the much more brainless sign, horse, and blacksmith shop. All that’s left is the argyle patterned ground, and the border.

This square really is adorable. The jaunty little horses, the charmingly goofy big horse, the unusual vertical wood planks of the shop — I love it all! Also, the horseshoes remind me of the one we have hanging over our front door. Apparently it’s good luck or something. I figure it has to be good luck, because it’s barely nailed into the wall and we have to slam the door shut to get it to latch. If it hasn’t fallen and beaned someone yet, I think we’re in good shape.

My favorite part of this square, though, is the fire.

Sometimes, looking at the chart I can’t always see how the finished product will look. I’m used to brick patterns enough that the little jumble of symbols on the page made sense to me. But looking at the hearth, I was like, “I dunno…” Then, when I put the final stitch in it, I thought, “Oh! It’s so cute! I love it!” It’s tiny experiences like this that make stitching the Hawk Run Hollow series so much fun!

As far as the big picture, here’s how the piece is looking.

Not bad, not bad. Hockey season starts in about a month. Thus, Threads of Fire season ends in about a month. The next square seems like a pretty quick one so I think I might set a goal to have the second row of squares done by Game 1. I suspect I won’t make it, but it’s good to have goals. You know, so I can feel like a failure later.

Oh, also it’s worth mentioning that Boomer was up to her old tricks again. The other night she asked how things were going with “Squaresville”. Hee!

7 Comments

Filed under Pins and Needles, Progress Reports, Stitching

7 responses to “Progress Report: MFBville, Week 9

  1. Apparently it’s good luck or something. I figure it has to be good luck, because it’s barely nailed into the wall and we have to slam the door shut to get it to latch. If it hasn’t fallen and beaned someone yet, I think we’re in good shape.

    Since I’m already going to hell this week, I will admit this killed me! Apparently the thought of someone getting nailed in the head with a horseshoe is seriously amusing. With my luck it would hit a friend or family member and not the Jehovah’s witness that put their foot in my door so I can’t get it closed.

  2. Pookie, I am in awe of your stitching prowess! This chart is amazing and your work is so good!

    I think my favorite part is the fire. :D

  3. Mags

    Awesome. I think I’m going to print the close up picture out, so I can remind myself not to complain every single time I whine about my craft being waaaaaaay too detailed. Yeah.

  4. Apparently the thought of someone getting nailed in the head with a horseshoe is seriously amusing.

    Hee! Sometimes I’ll look at it and think, “Man, I hope that doesn’t bean me because I’m not sure I could be mad at Boomer and Schnookie when they laugh at me for it.”

    I think my favorite part is the fire

    I think more stitching project need fires!

    remind myself not to complain every single time I whine about my craft being waaaaaaay too detailed.

    Yeah, but something like that knitted Boxworthy is waaaaay harder than this!

  5. I think more stitching project need fires!

    No joke! This one looks very nice. I am also loving the way the bricks in the fireplace turned out – the colors are very nice.

  6. Good luck? Who knew? Our old landlords put a horseshoe above the garage door. I will look at it differently from now on.

    Hockey season in a month? SWEET! Thanks for the reminder.

    Love all those horses. Amazing job.

  7. Carol, are you a hockey fan? We like to think of it as the sport of kings. Heh.

    I can’t remember who told me it was lucky to have a horseshoe over the door. Probably the person trying to sell me an old horseshoe…

Leave a Reply

