16 responses to “Faux-caccia, Or: I Might Be A Crazy, Crazy Bitch, But At Least I’m Not Sandra Lee

  1. Your faux-coccia? Awesome. And those bell peppers look delicious.

    Hers? DISGUSTING. That is so gross.

    You used to bake bread often? I’m scared of baking bread. It looks hard. :(

  2. I am still sitting here agape at Sandra’s faux-coccia. I almost feel like it isn’t good enough for that name, but what’s faux-er than using Pillsbury Grands? :P

    And yeah, I used to be quite a bread-baking badass. I kept a sourdough starter, so I baked with that every week, and often added another type of bread, too. For about a year, I was a bread baking fool. Then I took a weeklong Baking Boot Camp at the CIA, and what had been my ceiling became my floor as a home baker. I suddenly knew everything I was doing wrong, so instead of being psyched about the 95% I got right about something, I was bummed about the 5% that wasn’t. Then we moved to Maple Hoo and there was so little functional room in the kitchen that I was able to use it as an excuse not to bake. I spent two years saying, “Once we have the new kitchen, I’ll bake again!” And, a year after the new kitchen went online, I can count on one hand how many breadstuffs I’ve baked. I need to whip myself back into shape!

    (And don’t be scared of bread. It’s very, very easy. And very, very rewarding. :D)

  3. (And don’t be scared of bread. It’s very, very easy. And very, very rewarding. :D)

    Well, I’ve at least tackled dough! I was very proud of myself that I managed to make the dough for those peach galettes, which is quite unlike anything I had ever made before. Turns out it was a Dorie Greenspan recipe, and it was delicious – so good that everyone ate them before I could take pictures.

    Dude, your bread skills leave me in awe. That’s crazy good! I don’t think I’d have the patience to have starters going and all that. We have a bread machine, so normally some mix just goes in there if we want “homemade” bread. :(

    I am excited to see potential Schnookie breadstuffs on IPB Living!

  4. hg

    Oooooh! Remember you made that braided bread? Make that! Make that! Make that!

  5. Remember you made that braided bread? Make that! Make that! Make that!

    Seconded!

    My last year of grad school, I worked every Saturday. While I was at work, Schnookie would make some kind of delicious homemade bread. I remember coming home, exhausted from a day of work, and being handed a warm slice of buttered homemade multigrain bread. Life? Does not get better than that! Now if said multigrain bread was challah? Even better!

  6. I’m gonna make challah! Um… soon. And lots of other types of breads too! I can DO IT! (I’ve actually had plans on tap for an IPB Living series that would encourage me to bake bread regularly, so we’ll see how that goes.)

  7. Ok, your food looks YUMMY. Sandra Lee, not so much.

  8. being handed a warm slice of buttered homemade multigrain bread.

    OH MY GOD, I am so hungry now.

    Okay, I might have to make my own bread now for sure…

  9. Thanks, Chaz! And what Sandra lacks in edibleness she makes up for with entertainment value. That show is a laugh a minute!

    Caitlin, you totally should try baking bread! It’s so fun!

  10. personally, I’d think pizza dough would make tastier faux-caccia than pillsbury grands any day. All this talk of bread has reminded me yet again why I would totally starve if I attempted to even lower my carb intake. Honestly.

  11. When the Atkins craze was going on, I was trying to single-handedly keep the carb industry afloat. I figure if I have to choose between being skinny or eating carbs, I’ll take being fat any day. :D

  12. Amy

    Those stuffed peppers look really good. I wouldn’t think to stuff them with a couscous type mixture. I usually use a ground turkey / tomato sauce stuffing. Or, when I’m feeling particularly semi-ho, a ground turkey / salsa & BBQ sauce mixture.

    And your fauxcaccia looks way better than Sandra Lee’s.

  13. I love it that you took pictures of your TELEVISION.

  14. oops, that was message is from Sarah, didn’t realize I’m logged in as Paul!

  15. Amy, I love “semi-ho”! I am going to use that term ALL THE TIME now! :D (And while these peppers with the couscous were delish, I was thinking at the time that something with a sauce would be even better. I think a wintertime stuffed pepper would have to be full of ground turkey and topped with any combination of the sauces you mentioned.)

    Sarah, I’m going to tell Paul that you’re stealing his identity! (And we take lots of pictures of our TV these days. A good 75% of our content on IPB this summer has been driven by TV screenshots. It’s the hallmark of the lazy blogger!)

  16. A good 75% of our content on IPB this summer has been driven by TV screenshots. It’s the hallmark of the lazy blogger!

    The lazy blogger… Or the blogger who discovers her television, tuned to Olympic gymnastics, is displaying the funniest spitting-image of Zach Parise EVAH! That wasn’t laziness — that was inspiration!

Leave a Reply

