Progress Report: November Windows

Another week has passed working on “Windows” in the “November” Prairie Schooler chart and this was what I had to show for it on Sunday morning:

“Gosh,” you might be thinking, “Didn’t that have a cornucopia and pumpkin on it last week?”

Yeah. Yeah it did. What’s your point?

Sigh. I miscounted. I left out a whole row in the stupid cornucopia. And then I dragged my feet about ripping it out. Gee, I wonder why I’d do that?

Don’t think I didn’t start to resent that ridiculous “cheeful” there in the middle.

I finally manged to get the cornucopia and pumpkin ripped out and then flitted off to Arizona. When I got my project out on Sunday for an all day extravaganza of relaxing and stitching, I realized that I hadn’t ripped out the interior border. I had worked it in two passes, crossing half crosses on the way down, and then finished them as I traveled back up. In other words, I needed to rip out starting in an area that had no tails; I needed to cut the thread on the front and then rip both resulting tails out until I could run them under again. Easy as pie — if you have something other than rounded-tip TSA-approved Ralphie Wiggum scissors. Schnookie graciously stepped in to take a stab at cutting the threads with the impossible scissors. I had twice pointed out the problem area, so I figured everything was tickety-boo. Until she handed it back to me and I tried gently pulling on what should now be a loose end. Nothing. I tried more-than-gentle tugging. Nothing. “Uh… Schnookie?” Turns out she cut the wrong part of the border. That’s the last time I ask her to do anything for me! (Until dinner.)

Anyway, the correct spot then got snipped, and in two seconds I had both areas ripped out and re-finished. And thanks to the fact that I had the rest of the day to do nothing but stitch and listen to music, I had this to show at the end of Sunday.

It’s a little bit further along than last week. Here’s hoping I don’t have the same kinds of set-backs before Week 3’s progress report! This project was supposed to be fun! It’s like MFBville has put a hex on it or something!

8 Comments

Filed under Pins and Needles, Progress Reports, Stitching

8 responses to “Progress Report: November Windows

  1. Sure, it was a pain, but it looks so good! I’ll have to take pictures of Icebergs and the other project I started to put up tonight.

    I think my favorite part of this one so far is that nifty little house with the tree. I don’t know why, but it strikes me as so lovely. The cornucopia is rather nice too!

  2. I don’t know why, but it strikes me as so lovely.

    It’s the little puffs of smoke coming out the chimney, right?

    I can’t wait to see pictures of the Icebergs! And this mysterious “other project”.

  3. It’s the little puffs of smoke coming out the chimney, right?

    That might be it! And I love the little tree branches – you did such a lovely job!

    I can’t find a picture of the other project online – it’s a freebie that came with my Wyndham chart while I wait on the floss for the baby sampler, and it’s called “My Love I Give Thee” – I believe it’s from Barrick Samplers. :D

  4. Oh, I feel your pain. I spent the week before last ripping out two FU’s. That.sucks.

    I totally agree on the house. The puffs of smoke ROCK.
    =)

  5. Chaz, I’m so sorry the ripping out (I can’t get into the habit of calling it frogging. That makes it sound cute and fun) seems to be contagious!

    Caitiln, freebie projects are always fun! Barrick Samplers rings a bell… I think it might be the same person who designs for Carriage House?

  6. Get out, the technical term is frogging? hmmm, that sounds dirty, ifyouknowwhatImean…

  7. I’m not sure “frogging” is the technical term; it’s the cutesy play on “rip it/ribbit”. Crunchy would say “It’s a play on words, you know.”

  8. Yeah, it’s like when you rip out in knitting you call it “tinking” — knit backwards is tink. Ha ha. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

