Stitching Progress: Goodbye MFBville, Hello Prairie Schooler!

This past week marked eight weeks of continuous progress on “The Village of Hawk Run Hollow”, or “MFBville”. Just as I predicted in last week’s progress report, I don’t have another full square finished to show off.

Still, I’m pretty impressed by how much I did accomplish, considering those little horseys and riders involve seven different colors. I have been known to pass over stunning projects because they involve too much starting and stopping with tiny bits of color changes. Staring down the barrel of four miniature horseys was not fun.

Of course, in the end, they look adorable. After I finished the third in the top row, I decided I couldn’t take it any more. Those new Prairie Schooler charts had been sitting there, drawing me in, all week. I tried plugging my ears with beeswax but their siren song was just too strong. How’s a girl to resist? Especially if she discovered the perfect piece of linen in her stash, and especially when Boomer procures all the threads needed? She can’t resist, that’s how!

Knowing I’d not be thrilled to pick up MFBville again only to have to finish one more of those stupid horseys, I tossed the fourth one it and then picked up the “Windows Sampler” on the November chart.

I chose to work this on 32 count linen because otherwise the finished piece would be too small. On 32 count it’s only going to be about 4 3/4″ by 6″; smaller than that would be ridonk. That choice then necessitated not using silk, since the coverage would be a little weak, so DMC it is. I’m going to use some overdyed floss for the writing, to jazz it up a bit, but otherwise, the color palette is just the Autumnal look I want. The linen is Lakeside Linen’s Vintage Gypsy Gold. In linen parlance “vintage” means it’s hand-dyed to look antiqued. This piece looks almost tie-dyed, but since it will be such a small portion used, and an even smaller one showing, the effect will be one of a subtle depth. I love it. (These pictures make it look washed out. In real life, it’s a rich dark gold, with lighter straw-colored accents. In short, perfect for Fall.)

You know what else I love? I love Prairie Schooler pumpkins.

I love them so much I don’t feel at all guilty that MFBville is on a brief hiatus.

5 Comments

Filed under Pins and Needles, Stitching

5 responses to “Stitching Progress: Goodbye MFBville, Hello Prairie Schooler!

  1. hg

    One day, one day I will attempt linen. Maybe.

  2. You can do it, HG! It’s so easy! Get a nice quality linen, and you won’t ever want to go back to Aida again!

  3. I found some scraps when organizing my stash. Want me to send one your way so you can try it out? I’m not likely to use them all since I don’t often make things small enough for scraps.

    By this time tomorrow I’ll have had quality Attic shopping time! EEEEEE!!!

  4. hg

    You can do it, HG! It’s so easy!

    This is kinda like when I said you should just wing it, isn’t it?

    Want me to send one your way so you can try it out?

    Oooooh really?! It will be like a mini course with Coach Pookie! I should learn because I think that BC Sampler would look best on linen.

    Have soooooooooo much fun at The Attic! I can’t wait to see the new stash!

  5. I love Prairie Schooler’s samplers, too! I have a Halloween one and just ordered “Autumn Leaves” and “December.” I really like the fact that each includes a sampler and mini-motifs (in case you want a really quick project).

    The Vintage Gypsy Gold was a great choice for this project! I’m looking forward to the next update. :)

Leave a Reply

