Corn, Corn, Corn, Corn, SURPRISE!

So we’ve been gorging on sweet corn lately, thanks to the farm stand on my way home from work, and it’s not uncommon for Boomer and me to spend a few quality minutes together during the evening, shucking a dozen ears of them at a time (most to be eaten fresh, and some to be frozen for later). And so there we were today, tugging off husks and picking off strands of cornsilk, when all of a sudden Boomer comes across an ear that has a wee little proto-ear tucked inside the husks with it.

The little proto-ear was individually wrapped, and all covered in silk, and rested inside the big husks right up against the regular-sized ear. And the regular-sized ear was left looking kind of like its conjoined twin was ghoulishly removed.

It was grotesque and adorable, all at once.

I cooked up the baby corn alongside its full-grown brethren, and while Boomer’s not a fan of it, I thoroughly enjoyed eating it, too. Of course, it would have been better in some kind of saucy Chinese take-out, but who’s going to look a gift baby corn in the mouth?

12 Comments

Filed under You Don't See That Every Day

12 responses to “Corn, Corn, Corn, Corn, SURPRISE!

  1. I LOVE baby corn! How exciting for y’all!

  2. I was so stunned when Boomer said she doesn’t love baby corn. What kind of cold-hearted wretch doesn’t like baby corn?? :D

  3. hg

    Um… I don’t like baby corn…

  4. Heh heh.

    (I actually only recently discovered that I like it, and really, I only like it as a vessel for eating more of the sauce that comes on stuff like General Tso’s chicken.)

  5. Baby corn is exempt from Picky Eating because it’s not real food. It’s freak food.

  6. Well, yes. It’s definitely freak food. Especially considering that I’ve been eating corn for, well, probably close to 30 years now, and this is the first time I’ve ever encountered it in the wild.

  7. I too had conjoined corn twins. It freaked me out. It actually freaked me out enough, that I tossed the corn.

  8. I can see how they’d be super-creepy, but there’s a lesson to be learned here. A lesson of tolerance! Because baby corn is delicious! :D

  9. Provides 14-day wear Provides the final step to the Shellac
    system to seal and protect. As it started peeling off within a week.
    Instead of continuing to paint my nails and then watching the polish chip off within days, I had resigned myself to natural nails.
    Available in Both Fusion Salons.

  10. Being an online tool, you won’t have to remember that Carbonite’s automatic Online Backup Services
    function only works for 60 days. The motherboard connects to
    the iPhone Online Backup Services. It would create a visa for those in the city
    sewer line.

  11. Found your web-site on del.icio.us today and genuinely
    loved it.. i saved as a favorite it and will be back to check it out some more later .
    . As a Noob, I am constantly seeking online for posts
    that can help me. Regards! My best wishes, Julio.

  12. Penis enlargement. Very interesting method – jelqing http://uvelichenie.info/ . Jelqing is a physical-therapy technique, intended to achieve “natural penis enlargement” by increasing blood pressure and circulation. It is performed by repeatedly stroking the penis in a squeezing motion from the base of the shaft to the corona of the glans; devices have also been created to achieve this same effect. The motion may be described as “milking”.

Leave a Reply

