Stitching In Progress: Village of Hawk Run Hollow

Week 6 of work on “Village of Hawk Run Hollow”, aka “MFBville”, has passed and this is what I have to show for it — one more square finished! Two down, ten to go!

“St. Peter’s Church” was my second least favorite square on the chart, but it ended up being a blast to stitch. I had severe reservations about two things, the first being the stained glass windows. I was worried that they looked too modern for the overall look of the piece, but in the end, I think they’re darling, and an unusual focal point for this square.

My second reservation was the writing at the top that says, “The Rev. Isiah Cook”. Most of the squares in this piece include little written descriptions of the buildings in MFBville, such as “Opal’s Boarding House” and “Nathan Huffer, Blacksmith”. I think those are cute, but the “Rev. Isiah Cook” seemed a little bizarre. But if I left it off, the top center area of the top center square would look out of place, empty where all the other squares are full. So I stitched it for lack of a better plan. What worked in my favor, though, is that I made a big mistake.

See those tree leaves? Yeah, they’re supposed to be in a kicky darker green. I sorta, kinda completely misread the chart, and backstitched (actually I almost always use double running stitch instead of backstitch) the entire tree in the color that was supposed to be limited to the branches. I didn’t notice until I had finished the first tree, and didn’t feel at all inclined to rip it out; thankfully I’m usually pretty quick to find justification for ignoring mistakes.

The tried and true justification is the old Amish technique of always putting one intentional mistake into a quilt because “only God is perfect”. This seems like such a delightful approach to take. Not a project goes by here at Maple Hoo that you don’t hear the stitcher say (most often not long after they start it), “Well, there’s my one mistake! Heh.” So this little slip up can be my one “only God is perfect mistake”. Now I just have to be perfect the rest of the way… Of course, a less pressure-packed justification is to say that this dull green is much more like what a willow tree should look like. Anyway, the upshot of the mistake is that the writing, done in the same color as the trees, receeds nicely, and now it doesn’t bug me at all.

Rollie, by the way, didn’t want to be left out of this in progress report, so she helped me take pictures of the work.

19 Comments

Filed under Pins and Needles, Progress Reports, Stitching

19 responses to “Stitching In Progress: Village of Hawk Run Hollow

  1. EEEEEEEE!

    This looks AMAZING, Pookie! I am glad you’re taking closeups, because I never noticed the stained glass detail in the church.

    Gorgeous, gorgeous!

    I’ve always done backstitch. Is double running stitch more secure? I always feel like backstitch is a little flimsy for outline, just because the thread always feels too loose to me. :/

  2. Thanks, Caitlin!

    I’d never thought about it that way, but yeah, double running does lie a little bit tighter, I think. I do it because I like that it looks more even in the end than backstitch (thanks to the handy-dandy tip Boomer taught me of alternating which side you put the needle on on the return trip). Also, I’m lazy, so I like to fill half of it in, and then just zip back filling in the other half!

  3. Also, I meant to tell you that I’m so glad that you MFB’d the title. Hee!!

  4. Yeah, Pookie was all, “It’s such a bummer! There’s no way to MFB this one!” and I was like, “Hello! MFBville, anyone?” Sheesh. She’s got such narrow scope.

  5. I don’t know what my problem was. I think I needed to work on the project for a while to really get to know it.

  6. Are you trying to make me mad? I have spent the last week working on a three inch medallion in my currrent sampler. Every time I come around to join the two halves of the circle/oval thing it won’t match up. I’ve counted and recounted and ripped it out three times already. I’ve started in different places, tried to work the circle all the way around, tired to do sections of the circle to bring it together. Nothing is working!!! During this same time your completeing this! I offically hate you.

  7. Erin, I’m so sorry! I know that feeling all too well — sometimes there are projects that just don’t want to count right. Hang in there! (And yeah, Pookie’s speediness as a stitcher can be wildly annoying sometimes for those of us with a more, shall I say deliberate pace. :D)

  8. I’ve counted and recounted and ripped it out three times already. I’ve started in different places, tried to work the circle all the way around, tired to do sections of the circle to bring it together. Nothing is working!!!

    That’s horrible! I had to rip stitches last night, and I HATE doing that. I’m sorry!

    Pookie, by the way, I keep forgetting to tell you as well that I think I like that green that you used instead of the darker green on the tree leaves. It’s so awesome!

  9. OK, I’ll stop throwing a fit and just admit that I’m jealous. this medallion is like a wreath of leaves, and there is just something about it that is really hard for me. I can usually look at the chart and remember the next few steps, but with this one I have to hold the chart up and look at it for every stitch. I’ve caught myself repeating stitches that i’ve already done, even though I’m marking the chart!

  10. I had to tear out in my project last night, too! We’re like a little gang of stitching failures here! :P (Just kidding. It’s all part of the process, right? Right?)

    And oof! Wreaths of leaves are the WORST! I did a piece a few years ago that was a little winter robin in a wreath of holly leaves, and I remember holding my breath as I worked the last few leaves, just praying everything was going to match up. I don’t envy you one bit, Erin! (Although leaf wreaths always look fantastic, once they’re done…)

  11. Erin, I’m so sorry! Wreaths of leaves are the worst!

    Thanks for agreeing with me on the green front, Caitlin. I think the more olivey green works for a more Fall-longing look. Heh.

    And I’m sorry everyone was ripping stuff out last night! I actually made a small counting error myself, but it was 12:30 at night and all it means is that I have a flatter hill than I’m supposed to next to the little fish-filled river. I’m chalking this up to Stitcher’s Interpretation.

  12. Pookie, I think that’s definitely Stitcher’s Interpretation.

    That wreatht thing sounds awful! I feel like soon I’m going to be panicking over similar things myself, considering Wyndham shipped my stuff today! Yay!

  13. WOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!! New projects! What did you order? Have you already told me that and I’ve forgotten?

  14. Besides the Icebergs, and the linen I ordered, I got:

    Quaker Christmas ornaments:

    http://www.wyndhamneedleworks.com/Milady_s_Needle/quaker_christmas_smalls.htm

    Quaker Study from Carriage House, and some random baby sampler for my sister.

    I figured I’d look over the charts, then decide what I wanted to work in with floss, order that and then move ahead!

    I think Icebergs and one of these will be what I work next. I ordered the linen for the birth sampler, so I’ll probably start on that.

    I think Icebergs is worked in DMC, so whoo, floss run! :D

  15. ohhh, Stitcher’s Interpretation

    I like that, especially since I tend to make at least one mistake per piece. This time my little brick house is one column short. So those stones on the front of the house are a little smaller than they should be… I say nature doesn’t create perfect stones, so why should mine be?

  16. Oh, those Quaker ornaments are lovely! I hadn’t seen them before!

    I can see that they’re charted for Belle Soire, which is a variegated thread. I find Belle Soire really hard to work with, but if you’re interested, Boomer and I both have a LOT of variegated floss gathering dust in the basement. We use it in the smaller seasonal stuff we do, and so we have a bunch of skeins that were only used a little bit. If you want, I’d be happy to send one or two along if you wanted to try one out for one of the solid color ornaments. The varigeition makes the solid pattern more dynamic. And you’d be doing us a favor and helping us cull the floss herd downstairs!

  17. I say nature doesn’t create perfect stones, so why should mine be?

    EXACTLY! And nature doesn’t create perfect hills, either! Awesome, we’re both in the clear! :D

  18. If you want, I’d be happy to send one or two along if you wanted to try one out for one of the solid color ornaments.

    Pookie, that is so cook of you! I shall e-mail you!

    And nature doesn’t create perfect hills, either! Awesome, we’re both in the clear! :D

    Exactly! Everyone’s not making mistakes, thye’re making improvements! Everyone’s stitching is more realistic now… :)

  19. *GAAAAASP!* Those ornaments are SO BEAUTIFUL! What a lovely choice!

    I say nature doesn’t create perfect stones, so why should mine be?

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! Everyone’s commitment to realism here is commendable. :D

Leave a Reply

