Pommerdoodling Like The Dork That I Am

One of the downfalls of working at a public library is having to work on Saturdays. It’s particularly a drag where I work, since business is as slow on Saturdays as it is busy during the week (in other words, it’s packed during the week but I’d only talked to five people in the first 5 1/2 hours of my last Saturday shift). Usually I hit the end of the internet by about eleven o’clock on my work Saturdays, forcing me to either fry my brain with sudoku or drive myself batty looking at the Daring Baker’s Blogroll while wishing I had a big piece of cake to eat right then. For a change I decided to try and find some stitching blogs to read, so I went to Technorati and looked up posts that mention cross stitch. One of the first hits nearly made me fall off my chair.

The post was dated August 1st, 2008 and the subject line? The three little words that had me audibly gasping? “New Prairie Schoolers”.

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!

After rushing to alert the homefront of this awesome new development, I brought up the Prairie Schooler website to get a closer look.

I’ve waxed poetic here before about my love for Praire Schooler designs. I was raised on these puppies. They were my first projects, the first designer I learned. To me, they are classic, classic cross-stitch. Not only that, but they specialize in seasonal themes, a very, very favorite of mine and Schnookie’s. You see, we both live in a perpetual state of wishing it were any other season that it currently is. The Swedes have a word, that roughly translates to “summerlonging”, to describe the antsiness they get in the wintertime for something other than constant cold, snow, and ice. Schnookie and I get “summerlonging”, but more so we get “fall-longing” and “winterlonging”. Prairie Schooler somehow has managed to capture the spirit that is “[season]longing” with almost every piece they design.

Their early designs were very block-y, simple, and sweet, but lately they’ve been rolling out fresher, more detailed, more intricate seasonal designs that are miraculously still imbued with that simplicity they’re known for. We cannot get enough of these, snapping up the charts the minute they’re released. So it was with extraordinary pommerdoodleocity that Schnookie and I checked out the new charts while IMing about how excited we were to work them.

First up is the requisite Halloween piece. No one does Halloween like Prairie Schooler.

For a long time, Prairie Schooler Halloween pieces were the only thing I liked about the holiday. I just adore the details on this one — the bright orange background for the top border, the owl, the spooky trees, the moon. I think this one might look really awesome stitched up with Belle Soire silk, since they got the Autumn colors down pat.

Next up is Fall-Longing:

I think I might have actually let out a squeal of delight over the one on the right, the one about cheerful lights winking in windows on November nights. That’s one of my favorite things about late Fall! And Schnookie flipped over the Canada geese and the swirling leaves. Fall-longing is serious business for us, and this is like Fall-longing served up on a platter. I said to Schnookie, “It’s like they’ve dug out the meaty parts of our brains and slapped them on some linen!” The turkey! The fox! The trees with bare branches! The two peices are perfect!

What’s more, the one of the left is perfect for Schnookie’s favorite medium — Victorian cross on canvas with Elizabeth Bradley wool. The EB wool is so warm it’s absolutely made for this kind of thing. Schnookie’s been anxious to try converting something designed for DMC or silk using her fancy EB color card. That color card will now be making the trip to the Attic later this month! WOO! As for the one on the right, that might need a simple conversion to Au Ver A Soie, or maybe it needs the uber-classic DMC treatment. We’ll just have to see. That’s another fun project for the Attic trip. (Talk about pommerdoodling!)

What’s better than Fall-longing?! Holiday-Season-Longing!

When I think of Christmas, I think of that distinctive shade of red Prairie Schooler uses for their santas and cardinals. (OK, really, I think of presents. And spice cookies. But then I think of Prairie Schooler Santa red!) But now they’re upping the Prairie Schooler ante by introducing snowy branches studded with cardinals! And cozy fireplaces hung with wreaths! And look at those puffs of cheery, warm smoke coming from the chimenys! Love it! This one might also be calling out for the Elizabeth Bradley treatment.

Speaking of Santa Red, Prairie School traditionally publishes an annual series featuring santas; here’s 2008’s:

www.prairieschooler.com</i>

Photo:www.prairieschooler.com

I can live without the santa at twelve o’clock, and the snowman at three o’clock, but I love all of the others! Schnookie’s called dibs on the santa with the lantern, so I’m considering pairing the two remaining santas, with the two best snowmen, for a little two-by-two santa/snowman extravaganza.

So that’s the story. I am such a dork that I’m in a state of extreme wrigling-like-a-labradoodle-puppy over some new cross stitch charts! But you see, the whole thing with us and Prairie Schooler charts is that they have some strange enchanment on them. We literally cannot look at them without spontaneously deciding that whatever projects we’re currently working on are garbage and the only thing that will ever make us happy in that moment is the opporunity to immediately start one or all of them that instant! This is why it’s always better to find a new PS chart while in a stitching store where you have access to all the materials. During our last stash-bulking-up trip to the Attic, Schnookie gobbled up the materials to start a Winter one and didn’t even wait to leave the store to start working on it. (Full Disclosure: she was waiting for Boomer to finish pulling threads for a different project. She’s not that crazy.)

I don’t know which one I want to start first — Halloween? Or November winking lights? — but I do know that “The Villages Of Hawk Run Hallow” is narrowly avoiding being dumped back into the stash bin only because I don’t have these charts in hand. (I’m trying my darnedest to overlook that I have the materials for several PS seasonal projects sitting in the stash-room rightnow just waiting to be stitched… Just waiting for their fall colors to pop off the linen… Just waiting for a winterlonging soul to bring them to life… Must resist until trip to Attic… Must resist… Must… [Sounds of feet running down the basement stairs and of plastic bins being rifled through.]

28 Comments

Filed under Pins and Needles, Pommerdoodling, Stitching

28 responses to “Pommerdoodling Like The Dork That I Am

  1. Sue

    Oh soooo funny and true!!!!!

  2. Thanks for understanding, Sue!

    I just cannot get over how adorable these new ones are! I found a piece of charcoal-colored R&R Reproductions linen in my stash over the weekend that I think will be perfect for the santas and snowmen. The snowmen will just pop right off the dark linen, I think.

  3. Oh my god! I love that Harvest Time one! I’m so excited for y’all! Nothing like new crack-projects. :D

    It’s okay, Pookie, you missed my absurd pommerdoodling over finding my favorite piece of fine art EVER as a cross-stitch chart. It’ll make the perfect gift for my mother (it is also her favorite piece) for some holiday (it looks complicated, so it’ll take a while).

  4. They’re SO crack-projects, Caitlin! :D

    And what’s the piece you found for your mother? That’s so exciting!

  5. Mmmmmm crack-projects…

    Yeah, what’s this fine art-y thing?

  6. The Icebergs, by Frederic Edwin Church:

    My mother used to take me to the Dallas Museum of Art solely to see this painting. In real life, it is massive and it’s gorgeous. The last time we went, it was out on loan and it was not the same DMA trip without it. :(

  7. Caitlin, that’s GORGEOUS! How breathtaking! I’m really impressed that you would take on stitching that! That’s no mean feat!

  8. Oh, that’s extraordinary! I can only imagine how striking it is in real life. It’s one of those paintings you could get lost in for years, I bet!

  9. I’m really impressed that you would take on stitching that! That’s no mean feat!

    Oh good Lord, I know. I think there’s something like 57 million colors of floss that the chart asks you to get. It’s probably way too advanced for me, but if that’s the case, I can get a little more experience and then try my hand at it!

    Pookie, the DMA used to have The Icebergs situated in a corner of a room with a big bench in front of it. I always used to spend five minutes sitting on the bench staring at it. Apparently some people are really creeped out by it, due to the fact that there seems to have been a shipwreck on one of the icebergs.

  10. Yeah, I can see how that would have just a few color changes. :D

    And I totally love those gothic landscapes (or, um, icy waterscapes, as the case may be…). I think spending all day staring at that painting would be delightful.

  11. Yeah, I can see how that would have just a few color changes. :D

    Heh, yeah. Let’s remember this moment, when I was excited about this, before the inevitable breakdown of me being in over my head.

    I think spending all day staring at that painting would be delightful.

    Especially since it’s quite large. Every time I go the DMA the prints are ungodly expensive, or I’d buy one and have it framed. :p

    Oh, and I love the Prairie Schooler’s Halloween charts too! Eee, how exciting!

  12. this is mostly unrelated, except to say:
    1. I love the new banner and
    2. THE END OF THE INTERNET BEFORE 11am. Oh hell yes do I know about that. It makes me shudder and feel that sneaky brain-dead-ness coming on just at the mention of it.

    but also, I am in love with that snowman facing left with the little tree in his hand. He’s just so twee and wonderful.

  13. Thanks about the banner, elizabeth! I’m totally delighted with how it turned out — I’m in a deep and dire state of Autumnlonging right now, and the colors in that picture are making me very happy.

    There is NOTHING worse than being at the end of the internet. Not a single thing. It’s almost worse than having no computer at all! (Okay, it’s not. But sometimes it feels that way…)

    (I adore that little snowman. I can’t wait to get stitching on them all!)

  14. The best part of being at the end of the internets is that if the tubes went down at 11:01, I’d still collapse into a fit of flop sweats.

  15. Liz

    Ahh, another craft that I dream about tackling. Then I look at my boxes (yes, boxes) of yarn. Yarn that I haven’t touched in months. But I digress. Those are funky little designs. I’ve shunned cross stitch for a long time because I always thought the designs were hokey, but not these.

  16. Oh, the hokey projects are definitely out there. The hokey-ness levels in cross stitching are much higher than in knitting, but if you know where to look, there are some really classy, beautiful things out there. I like stitching more than knitting, because my sweaters never turned out as perfect as I’d like. I spent years on an Alice Starmore cardigan and it’s beautiful but the fit looks… well, homemade. Heh. Knitting is, however, much easier to do at hockey games. And if I had a little kid to knit for? I’d make little cableknits left and right!

  17. there really isn’t anything worse than reaching the end of the internet… or having no computer. They are sort of the same, actually. Although as bad as it feels now sometimes (Saturdays, I’m looking at you), I have to remember that when I was an admin assistant I reached the end of the internet every. damn. day.

  18. I have to remember that when I was an admin assistant I reached the end of the internet every. damn. day.

    I currently am an admin assistant. And I do that. Every. Damn. Day. :D Especially since my employer has recently realized that sudokus count as “games” and blocks access to them online. Back when I still had access to them, at least hitting the end of the interwebs didn’t mean there wasn’t anything to pass the time. ::Shakes head sadly:: How did people live before the internet? There must have been rampant alcoholism in the steno pool.

  19. Yes, flasks of whiskey make EVERYTHING better.

    =P

  20. HG

    Oooo… I may be doing some ordering soon…

  21. How did people live before the internet? There must have been rampant alcoholism in the steno pool.

    I suspect a lot of note passing, gossiping and “coffee breaks”. :D

  22. There must have been rampant alcoholism in the steno pool.
    oh, definitely. I asked my mom about that recently, and she said they used to just sit there. So I guess it’s not as bad as it COULD be.

  23. I suspect a lot of note passing, gossiping and “coffee breaks”.

    I asked my mom about that recently, and she said they used to just sit there.

    HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! Either way, it sounds excruciating!

  24. HG

    “coffee breaks”

    aka “Safety Meetings”.

  25. I am trying to resist the cross-stitch! Those snowmen and Santas might push me over the edge.

    I love the “Leaves Go Whirling Past”. That’s my favorite thing about autumn. I saw a movie years ago and I have forgotten everything about it except it was about Halloween and they used a lot of swirling leaves to create the Fall atmosphere. And it worked. The leaves falling are proof that the weather is finally cool.

  26. Don’t resist! Give in to the santas and snowmen! You know you want to!

    And yeah, whirling leaves and leaves crunching underfoot are the best!

  27. Pingback: Burl: Completed! « IPB Living

  28. Yesterday, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iphone and
    tested to see if it can survive a 25 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My
    iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.
    I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!

Leave a Reply

