This Week’s Harvest

This week saw some monumental earthworks, harvest-wise. The onions had all finally fallen over, and were heaving out of the ground, and the potatoes were looking raggedy and limp. The time had come to reap those fruits of the earth and ready the beds for planting for Fall harvest. Last Tuesday we dragged our feeling-sorry-for-ourselves asses out into the garden for the only work we’d do all week: digging up the fingerlings and some of the Yellow Finns, and hauling up the first wave of Riverside onions.

We got well over 8 1/2 pounds of potatoes…

…and scads of onions, a welcome change from last year’s crop of zero onions.

I needed the onion goggles to trim the leaves and roots, but once everything was cut away, we had a lovely bowl of onions waiting to be cellared.

That was just the tip of the iceberg, too — today we braved the ruthless, merciless heat, humidity and brutal sun to bring in the rest of the Riversides and all of the Newburghs.

Oh, and it should be noted that in the first harvest picture up there, you can see our whopping haul of four blueberries on the table in front of the baskets. We had a lot of fun getting all artsy-fartsy with the berries:

10 Comments

Filed under 7. July, Garden, Harvested, Pictures Worth A Thousand Words

10 responses to “This Week’s Harvest

  1. I love the pics of the blueberries!

  2. LOVE the blueberry pics! My favorite is the second one. And those potatoes look lovely. What do you mean by “cellar”? How do you do that?

  3. Liz

    The onions look amazing. They’re never quite as pretty in the store. Love the blueberry shots too.

  4. We’re inordinately proud of these blueberry pictures, so I’m glad y’all liked them!

    Patty, I’m using the word “cellar” totally facetiously. I suppose if I had a root cellar, I’d be able to store the onions in it, but in reality, we’re going to plow through these pretty quickly. I think you’re supposed to cure them, which entails letting their outer skins dry, so they can be stored for a long time. Ours are actually in pretty good storage shape, but we eat a lot of onions around here. (If it looks like they’re getting a bit past peak, I’ll probably chop them roughly and freeze them, to put in chili and soup in the wintertime.)

    Liz, you’re so right about them not being so pretty in the store. And they’ve really surprised me flavor-wise. I always assume and onion is an onion, but like with all the things we’ve grown or gotten from the farm, it turns out fresh ones are way tastier! (We haven’t tried our Newburgh ones yet, but the Riversides are insanely mild and sweet.)

  5. I think with onions you’re supposed to leave them in the bed on top of the soil in the sun for 10 days or so to toughen up the skins. I’d be too worried that the same thing would happen to our onions as happened to our peaches — we’d look outside ten minutes later and see a damn squirrel scampering off with the last of ’em! :D

  6. Oh! Okay. I see. I know so little about growing vegetables, I’m a little gullible. :D

    I really love the blueberry picture as a header.

  7. I adore how the header turned out. Pookie is the header artist around here, and I think she did a great job with this one. :D

    (And I knew I could pull the wool over your eyes with the cellar thing. :PPP)

  8. This is amazing! My onions got all burned up, so I had to pull them out of the ground prematurely, but they’ll make good roast onions.

    I’m jealous, so very jealous, of all of your potatoes. And your garlic. I think garlic is going to have to get on my growing list.

  9. Garlic is a must have. It’s so easy and low-key and it gives so much back! And it’s nice to have something to plant so early.

  10. We’ve actually had a pretty puny potato harvest, considering how many plants we had. I think we probably should have trimmed them back a bit to encourage more potatoes rather than letting them grow so ridonkulously huge.

    Onions seem to be surprisingly finicky. We planted ten zillion of them last year and not one of them grew. I think you should forget onions and go with garlic next year! And you can eat the garlic even if it doesn’t grow big bulbs! You can’t lose!

Leave a Reply

