Cute Baby Veggies

On a day that saw some full-on, grown-up, for-reals vegetables pulled up out of the ground, we were equally excited to see some wee baby crops developing around the other beds.

For starters, the nardello peppers are spending all their energy growing peppers the size of the entire tiny plants. We should probably take them off, but they’re just too cute:

Even more adorable? The baby gherkins, which look like spiky infant pickles with flowers attached:

There are also itty-bitty, teensy-tiny pods growing on two of the calypso bean plants, but they’re so small we couldn’t really get a picture of them:

6 Comments

Filed under 6. June, Garden

6 responses to “Cute Baby Veggies

  1. Sarah

    Those baby gherkins cannot wait for me to pickle them!

  2. I know! When I first spotted them I was like, “IT’S PICKLING PARTY TIME!!!!” Then I realized they might need to get just a BIT bigger.

  3. Or we just need to buy eeensy weeeensy little pickling jars. Hee hee!

  4. Sarah

    mini pickles for drinks! (Since I don’t like drinks with olives and I don’t like pickles, this actually sounds really revolting to me)

  5. HG

    Oh baby veggies are right up there with baby horses! Yay! Cuteness!

  6. (Since I don’t like drinks with olives and I don’t like pickles, this actually sounds really revolting to me)

    I have to agree with you! (And even though I don’t like pickles, I’m convinced I’m going to like my home-grown pickles…)

    HG, they’re EXACTLY like baby horses. With the big brown eyes and the fringes of eyelashes! :D

Leave a Reply

