Disappointment, Non-Slushie Style

It’s hot and a bit sticky and finally summery here at Maple Hoo, and on a languid afternoon laced with overtones of “Is it hot enough to turn on the AC yet?”, I decided to make a cocktail. Already a bit spacey (what I needed the cocktail for, I don’t know), I started absently flipping through a recipe book and alit on a drink of perfectly stark simplicity. I announced to Pookie and Boomer, “I’m making daiquiris.”

They both lit up. “Sweet!” Boomer enthused. “Yes yes yes!” Pookie Doug Dorseyed. I was stunned. Why were they so excited for a drink that’s just light rum, lime juice and simple syrup? My drowsy brain ruminated for a moment, then realized what the problem was.

“I’m not making frozen daiquiris,” I clarified.

This was met with silence. Crushed, disappointed silence.

Shake together 2 ounces of light rum, 1 ounce of lime juice and 1/2 ounce of simple syrup. Strain into an ice-filled wine glass and garnish with a lime wedge. Tell the people you’re making these for that they can suck it up, and if they want frozen daiquiris, they can make them themselves. Enjoy.

(These are super-refreshing and delicious, even though they’re just boring old liquid.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Drinky-Drinky

Leave a Reply

