The Birthday Haul

We’re celebrating my birthday this weekend (it isn’t actually until the 28th, but who wouldn’t spend Memorial Day weekend partying?), and today I got to revel in how much Boomer and Pookie spoil me. That’s right: it was presents day. And as per tradition, my birthday is used as a chance for everyone to load up on things that will make life at Maple Hoo a bit lovelier for everyone. Sure, I got some earrings and a few books, but really my birthday loot is all about things all three of us want. Like this bowl that we all picked out of the Sundance catalog:

We can’t wait to start styling our food for IPB Living photo shoots in that!

And then there was the Penzey’s sampler of spice rubs that Pookie decided would be great fun to play with during a very grill-filled summer:

The presentation was so cool — it came in a wooden crate, and the packaging around the spice jars included whole bay leaves, cinnamon sticks and allspice. It was just a glorious gift to receive, and I am just crazy excited to start trying all these spice blends out.

The centerpiece of the gifts today, though, was the new basket Pookie picked for me to take to the Farm with me. For the last five years I’ve struggled to find a good system for the pick-your-own crops, since my string grocery bags are pretty lousy for the predominantly small veggies that the farm offers (hot peppers, cherry tomatoes, all manner of string beans, various berries, and so on). Well, my problems have all been solved, and stylishly so!

And that wasn’t all! I also got the ice cream maker I’d asked for (Pookie says that a gift of an ice cream maker to me is actually just the gift of homemade ice cream to her, and seems to think this proves she’s an evil genius. What she’s forgetting is that I get the fun of making the ice cream and the joy of eating it, so we both win), and Boomer surprised me with a bottle of eiswein. I figure both of those presents will, eventually, get posts of their own.

8 Comments

Filed under Pommerdoodling

8 responses to “The Birthday Haul

  1. HG

    Oooooh! Happy birthday time of year! I’m so excited for you! Yay! Double yay!

  2. Liz

    Happy Birthday! Cool birthday prezzies, especially your new basket for picking up veggies. Where did that come from?

  3. I found the basket on Conran’s website, but MoMa sells it too, and I’ve also seen it on some other random design-y type sites. I was shocked to see it on the Style Guide pages in Food + Wine last month — for the first time in my life I was stylish before a magazine told me how to be so! :D

  4. Thanks, everyone! My birthday really is the most wonderful time of year, isn’t it? I mean, for everyone, not just for me. Right? :P

  5. Iain

    Happy birthday to you,
    Happy birthday to you,
    Happy birthday dear Schnookie,
    Happy birthday to you.

    Hip-hip! Hooray!

    Etc.

  6. Aww! Thanks Iain! That was beautiful! :D

  7. Iain

    My mum always said I was talented.

    Strangely, no-one else did.

  8. HAHAHAHA!! Poor Iain! :D

Leave a Reply

