A Cocktail While Cooking

I had a bunch of prep to do this evening, what with making dinner for tonight and prepping for our big pulled-pork taco BBQ tomorrow. When I got up from my “lazy Saturday” nap, I thought a glass of wine would be nice to nurse while I was puttering around the kitchen, but then I gave it a second thought and opted for a Negroni instead. I’ve never actually had a Negroni, but for some reason I figured it would hit the spot.

My recipe called for one ounce each of gin, Campari, and sweet vermouth, shaken with ice, then poured over ice and served with an orange slice. The recipe also stipulated that the glass could be topped off with club soda, but I didn’t have any.

The ice ended up cutting this nicely, and as it sat, it mellowed and the flavors all mingled, and it was really quite nice. Boomer is great to have around, because when she goes on liquor runs she always ends up impulse-buying some fancy type of something we never drink. Recently she came home with some swanky Scottish gin, and I used it in this. I’ve never consciously drunk gin before, and let me tell you, after sampling the Tanqueray I had in the pantry and this Scottish stuff, I’m thinking I should start quaffing martinis. The fancy gin is delish. And paired up with the bitterness of the Campari and the sticky sweetness of the vermouth? Just delightful.

3 Comments

Filed under Drinky-Drinky

3 responses to “A Cocktail While Cooking

  1. Sarah

    You guys have the most well stocked liquor cabinet of anyone I know.

  2. We have Boomer to thank for our awesome liquor cabinet.

  3. Pingback: Sweet, Heavenly Bacon « IPB Living

Leave a Reply

