Stepping Out of the Cookie Comfort Zone

Last July I wrote a post about what cookies I wanted to try out when the Unicorn kitchen was completed. I’ve checked off the Molasses Spice Cookies with Rum Glaze, the Chewy Ginger Oatmeal cookies, and the Gingerbread cookies, all of which were A+, keeper recipes. I knew I wanted to make cookies for this weekend, but nothing in that post was singing to me. Then I ended up bored at work with nothing to read except cookie recipes on Epicurious. I came across this recipe for Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies.

They sounded so different from anything I’d made before. I mean, they called for no eggs! And steel-cut oats! I’m so used to making Tollhouse Chocolate Chip cookies, this could only be a fun experiment. But just in case they didn’t work out I needed to know ahead of time to plan for the weekend, right? The cookies just had to be tried tonight.

The most exciting part of the recipe was the oats.

The user reviews on the recipe suggested that the steel-cut oats might be too al dente to be tasty. They sure look like a cool, new, unusual ingredient, though! That had to count for something. Still, as the dough was being mixed, contingency plans were drawn up for purchasing rolled oats for a replacement batch.

The second most exciting part was kneading the chips into the dough.

The dough was just butter, flour, sugar, and cocoa, really, so it was really dry. Mixing the chips in was easier via kneading. It was so satisfying to pick up a giant chunk of cookie dough and play around with it like I was in 3rd grade art class. Also, by this point in the process we discovered if the cookies were even half as good as the dough, we had a winner on our hands. Literally!

The third most exciting part of the process (this was an exciting cookie-making experience for me, apparently!) was flattening the rolled dough balls. Someone left a tip on Epicurious to grease the bottom of a glass then dip it in sugar before using it to flatten the cookies.

This tip worked like a charm!

Next up the cookies were baked for 14 minutes until the tops were nice and cracked. The second tray burned, leading me to conclude that the dough should be refrigerated while waiting to be trayed up. I think being left out on the counter didn’t help it. The non-burned cookies, however, were gorgeous.

In the end, the plans for procuring rolled oats was dismissed for being ridiculous. The steel-cut oats bring a delightfully different crunch to these cookies. The cookies are dry and crumbly, but in a delicious biscuity kind of way. The chocolate flavor is deep and dark and insanely satisfying. These cookies have the potential to be a canvas for further adventures in flavored extract fun. Best of all the cookies were insanely easy to make and don’t require eggs, making them an ideal slightly-fancier-than-cookie-pudding impulse dessert.

8 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Cookie, Cookie, Cookie Starts With C

8 responses to “Stepping Out of the Cookie Comfort Zone

  1. Sarah

    I have to say that the kneading the chips in picture is not very appetizing. Without being too third grade or revolting…for those of us with dogs it’s a big reminiscent of when your dog eats a bunch of bird seed. And poops. I’m glad the end result was more attractive and tastier (Presumably. I mean, I’ve never eaten dog poop.)

  2. Sarah

    oops, it’s a biT, not a biG

  3. Hee hee! I thought the same thing, but you know what? This cookie dough is SO TASTY! Seriously, I could just eat the entire bowl raw. So it kind of needed a picture, to celebrate its insane deliciousness. :D

  4. I made a batch of these, too. I had the same problem with my stupid oven over-cooking them (I think it’s the pan, though), so they didn’t look as good as yours. The dough was seriously delish.

    It basically makes a dozen cookies, so next time I’ll bake half of them first, then adjust the second tray to try to get them to look as good as yours.

    They were kind of dry, biscotti-ish, but I liked them a lot. Good with milk.

  5. By “same problem” I mean the problem I’ve been having with my oven. I didn’t mean that you had that problem, Schnookie. :D

  6. I’m glad you tried these and enjoyed them, Patty! The dough is INSANE! I think doubling the recipe is the way to go. I also think the burnage was reduced by baking one tray and then putting the other trays (all scooped up) in the fridge until the oven was ready for them.

  7. I was surprised at how not dry our cookies turned out, because the recipe made it sound like they were going to be really biscotti-ish. Maybe your oven is right, Patty, and ours is wrong? :P

  8. No, they were burnt.

    It was hard to tell, because they’re so dark. I’m going back to the disposable foil cookie sheets I get in the grocery store (that I use almost as long as regular ones take to start rusting anyway). Those seem to be the only ones that don’t burn my cookies. I think it’s because they’re bright and they don’t get nearly as hot as the thick cookie sheets.

    One think I like about them is I pretty much have everything I need. And a small batch is good so I don’t have to eat them for two weeks running.

Leave a Reply

