A Skewery Favorite

Last Sunday, when I was trying to come up with my menu for the week, Pookie kept jumping in and suggesting the chicken and feta skewers that I’ve made a few times in the past. As I always do when Pookie makes a dinner request, I rolled my eyes melodramatically, informed her that it would be impossible to make such a thing, let her know as witheringly as I could that whatever dish she’s talking about is so much work, and then glared at her until she said sadly, “That’s okay then. Never mind.” About five minutes later, though, I thought, “Huh. Chicken and feta skewers sound delicious!”

This is a recipe I got from either Gourmet or Bon Appetit about five years ago. For these I combined 1 cup of plain yogurt, about 3.5 oz of crumbled feta, 1 large clove of garlic (minced), 1 tsp. of chopped fresh rosemary, and salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste. I then tossed 1 1/2 pounds of boneless, skinless chicken breasts (cut into skewer-sized pieces) in the marinade and let it refrigerate for 30 minutes. Then I cut up a couple of red bell peppers, and threaded the chicken and peppers in an alternating pattern onto my skewers. I have huge skewers, so I like to cram as much as I can onto each one and figure we can divvy up all the pieces after everything’s cooked, so tonight I had just four mondo skewers to be grilled. They cook up on the grill in a jiffy, although the original recipe called for broiling them. Whatevs, broiler. When they’re cooked up, you then serve them with more crumbled feta sprinkled over them.

For sides, I tossed some cut-up new potatoes with a couple of minced garlic cloves, some more chopped fresh rosemary, sea salt, pepper, and a liberal glugging of olive oil. Then I roasted them as the skewers were grilling.

I made these specifically for Pookie, because our other side was… farm-fresh asparagus! The farm stand on my way home from work is selling it now, and while I was a little crushed to realize it isn’t grown on that particular farm, it looked a lot more farm-fresh than the plasticine asparagus at my grocery store. I drizzled these with olive oil, gave them a sprinkling of sea salt and a grinding of black pepper, and then grilled them up.

I’ve mentioned before in this space that I’ve become a much more frequent griller since moving to Maple Hoo thanks to the eponymous maple in the backyard. We’ve got a couple of benches underneath it and we all sit beneath the leafy canopy while dinner is cooking. It’s heavenly.

So, after all my whining about how miserable making these skewers is, it turned out to be quick, simple, delicious, and gave me an excuse to loll in the suddenly lushly green backyard. Fantastic times!

5 Comments

Filed under Hearty Meals

5 responses to “A Skewery Favorite

  1. HG

    Ooooooo… Mouthwatering! I’m going to try that whenever we get a casa with a deck. Oh, NBL… I’m coming!

  2. Oh, NBL… I’m coming!

    It’ll be there for you! NBL will wait, don’t worry!

  3. NBL will totally wait! It’ll just get better and better for you! (And if you do want to try this recipe before you can grill, the broiler does work just as well. :D)

  4. Sarah

    I think you want to invite us over for those skewers.

  5. Next time we get together, Sarah, we totally need to make these!

Leave a Reply

