A Muffin Dress Rehearsal

Boomer’s birthday is in November, which makes it difficult for us to shower her with gifts and then still have ideas (and a budget) left over for Christmas. Recently we solved this dilemma by taking to treating Mother’s Day like her birthday instead. On top of getting her heaps of fun presents, we get her a fancy cake from our local gourmet bakery, cook up her favorite meal, and this year, at her request, I’m making blueberry muffins. Yeah, I know — it’ll be tough to gag them down.

Because I had muffins on my mind on Monday when I did my grocery run, I picked up some frozen blueberries, but then couldn’t wait for next weekend to make up the muffins. I decided to have a bit of a dry run this weekend, just so we can be super-sure that they’re what Boomer’s going to want on her special day, right?

My favorite blueberry muffin recipe comes from the America’s Test Kitchen Baking Illustrated. It’s moronically easy:

In a medium bowl, sift together 2 cups of unbleached all-purpose flour, 1 tablespoon of baking powder, and 1/2 teaspoon of salt.

In another medium bowl, whisk 1 egg until it’s well-combined and light colored, then whisk in 1 cup of sugar until it’s homogeneous. In two or three additions, whisk in 4 tablespoons of unsalted butter (melted and cooled slightly), and then add, in two additions, 1 1/4 cups of sour cream. Whisk it all to combine.

Add 1 1/2 cups of blueberries (frozen or fresh) to the dry ingredients and gently toss to combine. Then add the wet ingredient mixture to the dry and fold until the batter comes together and the berries are evenly distributed.

Divide the batter into a standard 12-cup muffin tin (either grease the tin or use muffin/cupcake papers), then bake for 25-30 minutes in the middle of a 350-degree (F) oven. Once they’re baked, let them cool for a few minutes, then gorge yourself.

I think I screwed the recipe up and put in too much butter today. Good thing this was just a dress rehearsal! I’ll have to make them better next week. (Oh, and they were still delicious. I can’t wait to make them right, to see how much more delicious they can be.)

10 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods

10 responses to “A Muffin Dress Rehearsal

  1. I strongly dislike blueberries (I don’t know why, I just don’t) but these look absolutely delicious! I’d eat ’em!

  2. Caitlin, I used to be pretty blase about blueberries until I had some from a farm stand instead of the grocery store. The difference between a real blueberry and a grocery store blueberry is phenomenal. But I could totally get not liking them. They don’t really count as blueberries if they’re in a muffin, though, do they?

  3. I don’t like blueberries either. Except in muffins. (And actually Pookie’s right. I like wild blueberries. Blueberries from the grocery story are ass, although the frozen ones are much better than the so-called “fresh” ones.)

  4. Iain

    I’d never bought fresh blueberries before, but we thought we’d give this recipe a try, and discovered a few things:

    1. I love fresh blueberries. A lot.
    2. Your muffin recipe kicks ass. A lot.
    3. We thought we’d also try chucking them in pancakes. See points 1 and 2.

    Thanks, Ookies :)

  5. I’m so glad you enjoyed the recipe and discovered a love of fresh blueberries, Iain! And blueberry pancakes are SO DELICIOUS.

  6. There is nothing like the difference between fresh blueberries and non. I’m so glad you enjoyed the recipe, Iain! I love when Schnookie makes these muffins.

  7. Iain

    Yeah… I fear for my health, though, cos I think this house may well be entering a muffin phase. That can’t be good news.

  8. HAHAHAHA!!! How could a Muffin Phase be a bad thing? :P

  9. Iain

    …hey, what’s that tingling in my left arm? And that shooting pain in my chest is nothing to worry about, right?

  10. Oh, trust me — you get used to the shooting pain and the tingling. After a while, it’s just like white noise. :PPP

Leave a Reply

