A Regionally Appropriate Sip

Well, it might still be a bit brisk outside, but it’s all sunny and summery and chockablock with playoffy hockey inside, so we needed a summery drink today. Flipping through one of my Food & Wine “Best of [Whatever Year]” cocktail booklets, I found something called a Schuykill Punch, from a restaurant in Philadelphia. Hey! We’re not far from the Schuykill! That’s, like, a cocktail meant for us! The recipe calls for 1 1/2 oz of spiced rum (it specifies Sailor Jerry’s, our new favorite alcoholstuff), 1/2 oz of Cointreau, 2 1/2 oz of orange juice, 2 1/2 oz of pineapple juice, and 1/4 oz of grenadine. Everything gets shaken together over ice, then is served over ice.

I, um, didn’t have all that stuff. Namely: I was lacking the orange juice. But I did have a few tangerines, which I juiced, and then evened out the amount with some lemon juice. The end result?

schuykillpunchsmall.jpg

It’s a lovely color, is super-fruity, and the juices really punch up the vanilla of the spiced rum. As we each sampled a sip of the first one I made, Pookie just snatched the glass and trotted off, saying something about how it tastes how Hawaiian Punch was supposed to taste. We were never really juice drinkers as kids, and what I’m discovering later here in life is that those juices were all just missing alcohol.

8 Comments

Filed under Drinky-Drinky

8 responses to “A Regionally Appropriate Sip

  1. I love how the only ingredient you were missing was orange juice. Granted, I don’t have that in my fridge either, but the only thing I do have on that list is spiced rum…and I got it for free.

  2. You make a good point, kms2 — I probably shouldn’t be so proud of myself for having all but the healthy ingredient in this drink! :D

  3. I’ve been very curious to see what your liquor collection looks like since you’re always making these fabulous drinks.

  4. Our liquor collection is kept in a robust state thanks to Boomer. I really recommend that everyone have a Boomer to provide for their every whim. :D

    But you can see our liquors in a few of the pictures of the pantry in this post:

    PANTRY

  5. oh yeah, now I remember seeing the collection! It’s quite impressive! Is that goldschlager or are my eyes deceiving me?

  6. Yeah, that’s a bottle of goldschlager that a friend gave us about a hundred years ago. She and our sister Kate were spending Thanksgiving at our place, and we were all excited to have cocktails and stuff, but Kate’s not a big drinker. So our friend (who was also buddies with Kate) brought that because apparently Kate has a history of vaguely enjoying it. (We ended up having nice fruity drinks, and Kate teetotaled, so the goldschlager wasn’t even opened that weekend.) I’ve never used it for anything, and it’s probably old enough now that I should just dump it! But that bottle’s moved a few times with us, so I’m getting attached. :P

  7. That’s hilarious! When I saw it I couldn’t even imagine what drinks you were making with it. The only time anyone I knew drank it was because they lost a bet or something and were practically forced to drink it.

  8. I tried a sip of it when our friend gave it to us and for about a nano second thought it had some appeal then… not so much.

Leave a Reply

