This Is Not A Lemonade

I made Boomer drive to the store yesterday for a grapefruit, without realizing that it was the day before Easter. She came back several hours later, haggard and beaten down, and I felt terrible for having sent her on that errand just because I kind of vaguely wanted to make a cocktail with grapefruit juice in it. Now I had to make one, and it had to be good. I turned in my time of need to a St. Augustine Cocktail.

The recipe I used called for 1 1/2 oz. white rum, 1 oz. grapefruit juice, and 1/4 oz. of Cointreau. Everything was to be shaken with ice, then strained into a cocktail glass and served with a twist of lemon. I discovered at the last minute that I didn’t have white rum, so I used sugarcane rum instead. I also decided I wanted to sip this over the course of several hours, so I served it over ice. The end result? Looks like lemonade.

staugustinecocktailsmall.jpg

It also tastes like what I expect those fancy bottled European lemonades you see in gourmet stores to be like. It’s got the bitterness of the grapefruit, but the Cointreau, instead of being sweet, just smooths the grapefruit out. It’s light and fresh, with the sweetness of a rum drink, but has the sophisticated edge and crispness of a really nice lemonade.

Leave a comment

Filed under Drinky-Drinky

Leave a Reply

