My New Favorite Meal

Last week I made the “Southwestern Green Chicken Chili” from the Daily Soup Cookbook. At the time, I was too hungry to take a picture of it before devouring it, so I figured I’d just have to document it for all posterity at some later date. Of course, a few bites into my bowl of it, I realized it would be no trouble making it again to write about, because frankly, this is my new favorite foodstuff. It is just insanely delicious.

greenchickenchilismall.jpg

As with so many of the Daily Soup Cookbook recipes, this one has a first step that deals with poaching a chicken and reserving the liquid, and shredding it up, and blah blah blah. Please. I just cut up some boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about two pounds) and got six cups of homemade stock out of the freezer. With my stock melting back to liquidity, I browned the chicken in a large pot in a couple of tablespoons of vegetable oil. Once the chicken was done, I removed it from the pot, added a bit more oil, and then tossed in:

1 large spanish onion, chopped
2 ribs of celery, chopped
2 green bell peppers, chopped
2 poblano peppers, chopped
2 pickled jalapeno peppers, chopped

After letting everything sweat a little and get soft (while scraping up the browned bits from the bottom of the pot), the next step is to add 2 tablespoons of chili powder, 2 teaspoons of ground cumin, 2 teaspoons of ground coriander, 2 bay leaves, and 2 teaspoons of kosher salt. Stir, and let everything saute at medium heat for about five minutes, until it’s all fragrant.

Once everything was sauteed up, I returned the chicken to the pot, along with the stock and 1 28-oz can of whole, peeled tomatoes (drained and chopped). I brought everything to a boil, then reduced heat to a simmer, partially covered, and let it all bubble away for 20 minutes. At that point, I added 1/2 cup (heaping) of quinoa, and let it simmer 15 minutes, until the quinoa got soft.

The recipe then called for the addition of 2 cups of frozen, shelled lima beans, but my grocery store is so dopey that it doesn’t sell frozen lima beans that don’t have some kind of butter sauce. I substituted frozen, shelled edamame, which I like more than lima beans anyway. Oh, and I thawed the beans first, before adding them. Once they’re in the pot, I let everything bubble away for a few more minutes, to get the beans warmed through, and then I added about 1/2 cup of chopped cilantro and 1 tablespoon of fresh minced garlic, stirred everything up, and served.

Now, because this calls itself a chili, I served it on brown basmati rice (I will take any opportunity to stretch a pot of chili with brown rice), but with the quinoa, it really doesn’t need that. This is a really nice Spring-is-in-the-air kind of hearty one-pot meal, because the peppers are all zingy and freshly green-tasting, and there’s all that coriander in there. Of course, as “green chili” goes, this is awfully red-colored, but I don’t mind. I think I’m going to make this every week from now until I find a newer new favorite meal.

10 Comments

Filed under Hearty Meals

10 responses to “My New Favorite Meal

  1. HG

    Oooooooohhhhhhhh……. yummmmmmmmmmmmy! I’m going to try this one! I was almost drooling on the keyboard and then when you mentioned quinoa! YAY!

    How do you make your chicken stock? Do you think it would be okay with veg stock plus the chicken pieces?

  2. I am SO excited to have a use for quinoa now! I love it, but I never think to go out of my way for quinoa recipes, you know?

    As for the stock, mine is totally bobo stock; the trick to it is just having a big pot (:P). I make it by plunking a whole chicken into a (very) large stockpot, adding two big onions (quartered), three or four ribs of celery (halved, with leaves still on), three or four carrots (halved), two or three bay leaves, 8-10 whole peppercorns, and a generous couple of tablespoons of kosher salt. I then cover everything with water, bring it up to a boil, and then let it simmer for an hour or so, or until the chicken is falling apart. Then I strain out the solids and refrigerate the stock, covered, overnight. After refrigerating, the fat will be solid enough to be skimmed right off the top. I then parcel it out into tupperwares and freeze it all.

    All of that said, I think veggie stock would work perfectly with this!

  3. Meg

    That looks delicious.

  4. I love it, but I never think to go out of my way for quinoa recipes, you know?

    A friend of the Untypical Girls makes the most delightful food, and the BEST way I have ever had quinoa is the cold quinoa and pea salad she made us one time.

  5. Caitlin, by any chance could you get that recipe for me? :D

  6. Caitlin, by any chance could you get that recipe for me? :D

    I am meeting her for dinner tomorrow night so I will try my best to weasel it out of her!

  7. HG

    I love it, but I never think to go out of my way for quinoa recipes, you know?

    It’s true. I had a warm quinoa salad with diced apple, cinnamon, raisins and a few bits of dried chilis once. It was quite tasty.

  8. Pingback: My Old (Read: “Actual”) Favorite Meal « IPB Living

  9. what’s the difference between a spanish onion and a regular (white, brown) onion? I don’t think I’ve ever seen a spanish onion in the store.

  10. I think they’re kind of the same thing, but Spanish onions are bigger. I dunno. I use them interchangeably, assuming those big honkin’ onions are the Spanish one, and just using two or three regular yellow/brown onions in their place if I can’t find them. (White onions are a totally different beast, although probably relatively interchangeable as well. I think the big difference with white onions is when you have them raw in, like, salsa.)

Leave a Reply

