A Key West Kind Of Day At IPB Manor

Today we had an in-like-a-lion March day, with the steady, drumming rain and the cold, cold winds and the low, gray skies. So what better drink while taking in some stretch-run hockey and putting in some stitches than a Papa Hemingway’s Daiquiri? I mean, it’s just like Key West! Furthermore, like Papa Hemingway, we’ve got a cat with extra toes. Behold, Rollie’s famed monkey paws:

monkeypaws.jpg

Feeling sufficiently polydactyled for this drink, I blended 3 ounces of white rum, 1 1/2 ounces fresh grapefruit juice, 3/4 ounce fresh lime juice, 1/2 ounce grenadine, 1 teaspoon sugar and 1/2 cup ice. The drink is served with a squeeze of a lime wedge, and then the wedge dropped in.

papahemingwaysmall.jpg

This is a really nice drink, if I do say so myself. The recipe actually didn’t have the sugar in it, but suggested cutting back the rum and adding sugar if you wanted something smoother than Hemingway himself supposedly preferred. I decided to keep all the rum and add the sugar, and it makes for a delightful finish. It’s fruity but not cloying, has a bite and bitterness, but with rounded edges, and really, the color can’t be beat. Rollie gives it two monkey thumbs up.

17 Comments

Filed under Drinky-Drinky

17 responses to “A Key West Kind Of Day At IPB Manor

  1. Every post I am amazed at the creations you whip up just because. The Unicorn Kitchen must be well stocked for any sort of occasion.

    It’s definitely an in-like-a-lion day here. Mr.A is on his way with the fixings for garlic bread and super hot wings. I’m thinking carrots and my new fantastic jicama, both cut into sticks, will make a nice accompaniment to the holyshitspicy!ness that will ensue.

  2. Day-um! HG, you are having some serious in-like-a-lion weather! Wowza! I think garlic bread and super hot wings is a delicious counterweight to that. And you’re a genius to pair the jicama in sticks with that. Yummy! (I used to have a scrumptious recipe for a jicama-onion-and-orange salad, but I’ve lost it. Isn’t that a great story?)

    I actually sort of planned for these drinks ahead of time — I picked up some grapefruits on Monday on my regular grocery run, and then riffled through one of my drink books today to find something to use them in. But our liquor cabinet is loaded, thanks to Boomer’s intrepid efforts on that front. I highly recommend that everyone get a Boomer of their own.

  3. It is INSANE here. I like to check the wind by the flag on the corner a block down but I can’t see it due to blowing snow. It’s quite ridiculous. They have some dude on the TV and the snow is going horizontally.

    (And that’s a great story.)

    Can I order a Boomer through IPB Living? Do I get one with my subscription?

  4. I think that’s a fantastic plan, to include a Boomer with the first 100 IPB Living subscriptions. I’m going to get working on that…

    That’s madness about the snow. I am so CRAZY for Spring to get here that I’m not sure I’d be able to deal with that. Although we’ve had some seriously torrential rain today. If that’s at all comparable. Which it’s not. I hope you two have a nice, cozy evening with the super spicy hot wings and the jicama and the not being out in the wind and snow!

  5. Oooh, that weather sounds FUN! Fun for sitting around at home eating hot wings and jicama. (Hope Mr. A doesn’t have too much difficulty getting to Casa HG.)

    The first 100 people who subscribe to IPB Living should also get a Schnookie. Boomer stocks the cabinet, Schnookie makes the cocktails, and I drink ’em! All I have to do is pay to keep us in cable and satellite TV. It’s a great deal.

  6. I would like to put my order in for a Maple Hoo set. Do I get a discount that way?

    The wings are currently in the oven. Mr.A made it here alright and he also brought Bailey’s which he blended up with milk and a banana. Through my Piglet straw, it’s very tasty.

  7. Through my Piglet straw, it’s very tasty.

    Hee hee! I think a Piglet straw is probably the only way to drink adult beverages! I’m glad Mr. A made it okay, and that your evening of food is cozily underway! (We barely survived a two-hour blackout here. It was TERRIBLE.)

    I will set to work training the appropriate people to send you a full, discounted Maple Hoo set.

  8. We barely survived a two-hour blackout here. It was TERRIBLE.

    I saw that on ye olde hockey blogge. It sounded delightful. But that’s just because I grew up on a fish hatchery and whenever the power went out a giant alarm would go off and whoever was on call had to run down to check the fishies. This also meant a generator came on so we always had power. I’m sure I would actually hate not having power but I felt left out of blackouts as a child.

    Anyway, the holyshitspicy!-ness was almost more than I could handle. Thank goodness for the jicama poultice that soothed my tongue. The wings were soooooooooooooooooooo good.

    I will set to work training the appropriate people to send you a full, discounted Maple Hoo set.

    And if I buy today, do I also receive a free dinner plate?

  9. You grew up on a fish hatchery?! That’s so awesome! And, needless to say, makes “growing up in suburban NJ” sound downright boring. Now I feel left out! The blackout sucked because we missed 2/3 of the Devils game, but I secretly really enjoyed it. I just got a book by my favorite author from the library and was getting a kick out of reading it by candlelight (it’s a romantic thriller that has fire as a theme, so it was especially atmospherically appropriate).

  10. I’m so glad to hear that jicama is the perfect balm for holyshitspicy!-ness! And that dinner was a success. Mr. A once again lives up to his name!

    You have just blown my mind with this fish hatchery thing. We used to go on field trips to one when I was in grade school, so now I’m thinking of you as someone who would be LIVING in a spot that I visited as a FIELD TRIP. It’s like I should be poking a stick at you through the bars of a cage or something. :P

    And wait, first we give you a discount on the Maple Hoo package and now you want a free dinner plate? It’s never enough for you, is it?

  11. I just got a book by my favorite author from the library and was getting a kick out of reading it by candlelight (it’s a romantic thriller that has fire as a theme, so it was especially atmospherically appropriate).

    That sounds wonderful! What book is it? I just read a new Nora Roberts one with fire as a theme – Blue Smoke. It was good. So much so that I stayed awake until the wee hours to finish.

    This is where I grew up: Kootenay Trout Hatchery and there’s even an Old Master sighting. It was great fun and I was sorry when I stopped being a kid and moved away.

    And wait, first we give you a discount on the Maple Hoo package and now you want a free dinner plate? It’s never enough for you, is it?

    You’re right. My apologies. I really am grateful for my discounted set. I don’t need the plate. I’ll have some here for my set when it arrives as a welcome gift.

  12. Oh my gosh! The trout hatchery is GORGEOUS! And the Old Master! WOO HOO! He’s as elusive as Boomer! :D

    I loved “Blue Smoke”. I also stayed up until the very wee hours to finish it (although it’s a rare Nora Roberts for which I don’t do that).

    Wish me luck here — I’m trying to make croissants today.

  13. Was the area around the fish hatchery as gorgeous as it looks in those pictures? I get now why your dad cut Christmas trees for y’all!

    I loved “Blue Smoke”! The one I’m reading now is “Sizzle and Burn” by Jayne Anne Krentz.

  14. I haven’t read Nora Roberts for a while but I was hanging around in Chapters and picked it up. I read Angel Falls this summer, enjoying that one too. I like her mystery/romance novels. I’ll have to go check out the Jayne Anne Krentz one.

    The trout hatchery was an amazing place to grow up. I was outside everyday, playing in the yard or out in the woods or riding my bike down the highway to a friends’ house. There were a group of 5 of us young’uns that hung out a lot.

    Good luck on your croissants! I’m going to make an Asian inspired soup.

  15. Here are my mountains that I saw out my front room window. Except my view was from the bottom right. They have an incredible power and I miss them every single day.

  16. Holy cow! I’d miss them too. That’s just… stunning! We had teensy tiny mountains around our house in Scottsdale and I did love seeing how different they’d look throughout the day. But compared to those they were like little hills!

  17. Wow, HG, what an amazing place to grow up! That’s just breathtaking. I can see how Ottawa would be… lacking in the “mountain” regard.

Leave a Reply

