IPB’s Sister Kitchen (in Dallas): by Patty

Early in our lives as bloggers, our good friend Patty (in Dallas) emailed us about her own kitchen remodel. While we didn’t start the process at the same time, we realized the two projects were coming to a close at about the same time. We made a blogger’s pact to do a big unveiling as soon as the kitchens were done. And now the time has come! We’re super excited to present to you our sister kitchen (in Dallas), with commentary by Patty herself.

This is what the kitchen looked like originally. This was taken on the day they were demolishing it so you can’t really see how crowded the counters normally were. And the stackable washer and dryer is new. Before the remodel, the clothes dryer was just to the left of the long window. Right out in the kitchen. Now, it’s in a nook by the dining room door. The peninsula basically made the kitchen half its own size. The area on the other side of it was worthless. Barstools wouldn’t fit there, because you couldn’t get past them to that area, and the cabinets hanging overhead made it dark and cave-ish.

Kitchen Before

The kitchen is part of a bigger room and I call the other half the “den”, even though it’s not snuggly. It’s my theory that it was originally two rooms and was opened up sometime in the seventies (probably the same time they added the horrible peninsula in the kitchen). Several months before I started the kitchen, my dad and mom and I pulled down some cheap, glued-on, whitewashed paneling to find the real paneling beneath it. This is what it looked like on demo day.

Den Panelling Before

Personally, I’m not a fan of fireplaces in general, and I don’t really know what to do with them, decorating-wise. So I left it mostly alone, but you can see what that whole part of the room looked like. Nice carpet, huh? Someday I might do something with the fireplace.

Den Fireplace Before

This is the new kitchen. The amazing thing about the kitchen is that it turned out pretty much like I wanted it to. After all the decisions to make and all the times I had to settle for something I didn’t originally want, I was kind of surprised. On the other hand, most of the big parts, I stuck to. Many salesmen thought they knew better what I wanted. One tried to talk me out of the floor design because he didn’t carry plain white and plain black. I didn’t tell him how I’d wanted black-and-white checkerboard floors since I was 11 years old and that’s what I was going to have. I just said thanks, anyway.

I think it’s a pretty unusual look, based on what we see in magazines and on HGTV, but I like to think it’s a trend that might start soon.

New Kitchen 1

This view shows the fridge and the door to the dining room. The green cabinet on the left is a vintage Sellers cabinet that was originally part of a three-piece “wall of cabinets”; a type popular in the 1930s. Behind the wall behind the cabinet is the stacked washer/dryer. Originally that nook held the washer and the water heater, and the dryer was where the fridge is now.

New Kitchen 2

Here’s a look at the other corner of the room, with a good look at the range and the infamous hood. The range story is fairly infamous, too, but also long. The short story is that I had a vintage O’Keefe and Merritt 40″-wide range that the whole design was for, but when I got it into the house and hooked up, I realized I hated it. So I bought a Bertazzoni range from Italy over the internet. Mainly because it was white, but luckily I love it for a bunch more reasons, too. The vintage range served its purpose, though, by being an inspiration.

New Kitchen 3

You’re standing in the dining room doorway in this view. You can see the patio door on the right. They were originally a sliding-glass door, at least when I bought the house. Now it’s a door and a window.

New Kitchen 4

This is the den. Your back is now to the kitchen and the patio door is on your left. I had them attach a tiny little shelf at the top of the paneling for knick-knacks and picture frames. Arranging that shelf is still a work in progress. The walls turned out pretty nice, I think. Back when I first moved here, I pried a piece of the old paneling away to see if I could get a peek at what was behind it. When I realized what it was, I immediately knew that that’s what I was going to do with it.

The sofa and chair are from Ikea. By the time I bought them, I had exhausted every avenue to find the perfect couch, or sectional, or couch/chair combo, but was completely unsuccessful. I figured an Ikea set would tide me over until I found the perfect set, but I kind of like them. Probably keep them. Who else sells a bright blue couch without a bunch of fru-fru? Nobody that I found.

New Den 1

Here you can see the fireplace and the relationship of the patio to the den. If you were to keep turning around to the left, you’d be facing the sink again. (I should do one of those virtual tours, like on real estate sites, shouldn’t I?)

New Den 2

Turning to the right, we can see the Sellers cabinet again and the other wall of the den. Through that door is the hallway to the rest of my tiny house. I plan to put up photos and/or more tchotschkes on that shelf soon. I will have to get my mom to help me with that kind of detail.

New Den 3

27 Comments

Filed under Sister Kitchen

27 responses to “IPB’s Sister Kitchen (in Dallas): by Patty

  1. Wow. Between the -Ookies and Patty (in Dallas), Mr.A and I have a lot of work to do in whatever house we end up in… The bar is high, ladies, the bar is high.

    Patty – that’s beautiful. I love that you stuck to your guns on the floor. It looks wonderful.

  2. I luff it, Patty! It’s SO cute! And bright. The counter tops look great in red. And the couch/chair are awesome. Yay!

  3. Sarah

    I’ve always wanted a black and white checkerboard floor. It looks fantastic. And I always always admire open shelving in magazines, but know that in my real life I could never have it because I am grateful my cabinet doors hide everything behind them!!

  4. In my next life I am TOTALLY going to have Patty design a kitchen for me. I LOVE how hers looks! (And when I get around to visiting her in Dallas, I am TOTALLY coming home with some of those vintage bowls, but don’t tell her I said that, okay?)

    hgee, we’re keeping a spot open here on IPB Living for your new kitchen! :D

  5. The best part about those open shelves is that it’s going to make it easier for me to “borrow” some of those bowls.

  6. I am crazy jealous of this kitchen. Especially the range. Schnookie, when we go to (Dallas) you can distract Patty by making a show of stealing the bowls, and when she’s not looking, I’ll stuff the range into my suitcase. Oh! Patty! I didn’t see you there! Uh… look at that hobo! And forget everything you read here!

    Sarah, I hear you on the open shelving front! 1/2 of our hutch is open and right now it has plastic bins of peppers and the extra rack from our toaster. I think of the closed shelves on your hutch and I’m like, “Dammit! Why didn’t we think of that!”

    hgee, I love that you got a commenting make-over to go with IPB Living’s new look! (That’s what sparked the change, right? Right?)

    Patty, thanks for letting us share your kitchen with the world!

  7. Thanks, y’all! I’ve been a rampant bowl collector for so many years and I’ve been lugging them from house to house for so long, I decided I had to have a ton of shelves for them.

  8. Thanks so much, -Ookies, for hosting my reveal. I’ll run out and get some duplicate bowls for any that you like. Because I will notice right away any that are gone. It looks all casual, but it’s the result of a lot of handwringing.

  9. Vinny

    man that is so…crazy…gorgeous. I’m in love with your den ;___;.

    Wow. I signed a lease, so next year I’ll live off campus – I’ll show you guys what ugly and a can’t-renovate kitchen looks like! Then everyone can feel better and less jealous =P.

    Seriously Patty :0 take me in!

  10. I would, Vinny, but that’s pretty much the whole house. :D You’d have to sleep on the chair, because I have dibs on the couch.

  11. It’s too bad that you can’t see the light fixture over the sink. I bought a reproduction chrome fixture and used the glass globe from the porch light of my mom’s Victorian house.

    You can see the globe in the fireplace before picture. The new base is very similar but new, and shiny chrome.

  12. It looks all casual, but it’s the result of a lot of handwringing.

    YOU? Handwringing? I refuse to believe that, Patty! :P (The globe lamp looks so incredibly awesome, by the way.)

    Vinny, I’m excited for your off-campus housing, and I really hope your unrenovatable kitchen isn’t as bad as the one we had in our rental with X. It was one short wall of fridge/sink/range/two feet of cabinets in our living room. It was SO TERRIBLE.

  13. hgee, I love that you got a commenting make-over to go with IPB Living’s new look! (That’s what sparked the change, right? Right?)

    Right on the button, dear Pookie. And you don’t really have to type out h-g-e-e. It wouldn’t let me have just two letters. Stupidheads.

  14. What is your avatar a picture? It looks like a sidbit exploding.

  15. Oooh! I LOVE it, Patty! It’s so homey and quirky! I love love love love love it.

  16. Thanks, Katebits! It’s quirky, all right. I think of myself as far from quirky, but I suspect I’m wrong about that.

    I love your avatar!

    I’m going to guess hgee’s is hot cocoa with a giant homemade marshmallow. Am I close?

  17. I know what HG’s picture is!

    And Katebits, you have just elevated avatars to an ART FORM. :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

  18. It’s kind of tiny to see, but I think my favorite thing is the little girl-head cookie jar. :D

  19. Schnookie knows because she’s in the know and knows where to know to find out and know. Or something.

    It’s a coconut ball. It’s the best dessert in the whole wide world.

  20. Sounds delicious! I, unlike some others I could mention, LOVE coconut.

  21. Meg

    Your kitchen is so fun, Patty! I love how the open shelves look. Granted, if I had open shelves they would just be embarrassing, but yours look fantastic. And I adore the red counter tops.

  22. Schnookie knows because she’s in the know and knows where to know to find out and know.

    You know it! :P

    (And yes, I am DISGUSTED by coconut balls. But I try to keep that to myself. I try… and fail.)

  23. Thanks, Meg. I’ll tell you, the corner cabinet with the lazy susan is what made it all possible.

    And I didn’t mention your name, Schnookie! Be cool!

  24. Caitlin

    Patty, I…I….

    I am just so hideously envious right now that I can’t even think right. That is gorgeous. I am in awe.

    You wanted black and white checkerboard floors too? I have wanted those for FOREVER. I am so glad someone else in the world has them, so it gives me hope for my own place someday.

    The only thing I can definitely tell you that I want in my kitchen is blue (or green) sparkly countertops. I saw a lady on HGTV the other day who put in blue sparkly granite-esque countertops in her whole kitchen and it was amazingly amazing.

  25. Patty (in Dallas) your kitchen is so uber-awesome with so much character! I love the black/white checker floor…something I’ve always loved. Same goes with the open shelves…so basically your kitchen is everything that my daring side would do but my regular self would never go for.

    I’ve been a rampant bowl collector
    Man, you need to give me some bowls! You should see me try to cook a lot of stuff. It’s almost comical because I have to do dishes while I’m cooking sinceI don’t have enough bowls…I think I have three, or 6 if you count the small mixing bowls. Wedding registry, here I come!!

  26. kms2, those bowls aren’t for usin’! They’re for lookin! :D One way they stay straight is that I only use a small percentage of them. The rest I just dust. And thanks for the compliments.

    Thanks to you too, Caitlin! Whenever you get ready to put down that kind of floor, let me know. And check out Silestone for blue and sparkly. That’s what mine are (Silestone, not blue and sparkly). One of HGTV’s dream homes (I think it was the one in Tyler) had cool blue silestone countertops.

  27. Patty, I am HORRIFIED that you don’t use all those bowls! They’re getting fat and lazy and dullardly because you never let them stretch their legs and run around! They need to go to a GOOD HOME. I am SO calling Bowl Services on you, and then I’m going to adopt all your poor, neglected bowls.

Leave a Reply

