Our Fortunes? Looking Up!

When we lived in Arizona we really liked going to PF Chang’s. Shut up! So we’re losers. Anyway, they had a drink on their menu (who knows — they probably still do) called a “Good Fortune”, which was vanilla ice cream, ginger brandy, and dark rum. It was served in a daiquiri-y glass and garnished with a fortune cookie. It was also insanely delicious. I have lately been hankering for ice cream cocktails, and also was wondering what to do with the impulse-bought Sailor Jerry’s Spiced Rum that Boomer brought home from our discount liquor store. I decided a Good Fortune, Schnookie-Style was the way to go.

I had some ginger brandy on hand from a many-years-ago attempt at replicating the Good Fortune, but after a trial swig of it, realized it was rotgut. So I decided our drink should be made of vanilla ice cream (from Jann’s Sweet Shop, the homemade ice cream place a few blocks away), spiced rum, and ginger syrup. I whipped up some simple syrup (1 part sugar, 1 part water, gently heated until the sugar all dissolves) and muddled in some slices of fresh ginger when it was hot, then left the ginger to steep in the syrup for a few hours. Then I strained the syrup through a fine sieve and we were ready to roll. The ratio I picked was three small scoops of ice cream (I have no idea how much that actually is — not a ton. Maybe one store-bought ice cream cone scoop?), one ounce of ginger syrup, and two ounces of spiced rum. Blend and serve.

goodfortunesmall.jpg

This? Is delicious.

UPDATED

Pookie finished hers pretty much before all of it had a chance to get poured into her glass. She promptly waved the glass in my face and said, “This is my first favorite drink.”

5 Comments

Filed under Drinky-Drinky

5 responses to “Our Fortunes? Looking Up!

  1. HG

    When we popped into the liquor store for vodka yesterday, they had samples of this Tequila Rosa Cocoa which I thought might disgusting but wowza… tequila AND chocolate? With a hint of strawberry? Mr.A and I decided that it would be perfect in a milkshake. We didn’t pick any up but the Caesars he made with the vodka were really, really good. Instead of celery, he put in a sliced-in-half-lengthwise super-sour kosher dill. Yummmm… And I don’t even really like Caesars.

  2. Boomer bought us some Tequila Rose a few months ago while she was on a mission for some other liquor, and we haven’t tried it yet. I suppose we should, even though it will be WOEFULLY short of chocolate.

    I just had to look up the Caesar, since I’d never heard of it (wikipedia suggests that’s because I’m not Canadian…), and I’ve got to say, it sounds like a super-sour kosher dill is a genius addition to it! Mr. A is really something else, isn’t he? I’m looking forward to meeting him so he can cook for me! :D

  3. HG

    I’ve never had Tequila Rosa before this taste. I’m sure it could be either quite yummy or quite over-powering. Or both.

    Really? No Caesars for you? Huh. Well, Mr.A made it in a highball glass, starting out by dipping the rim in lime and then in Clamato spice. It started with 2-3 ice cubes followed by a tsp of Worcestershire sauce, a little more of Tabasco, a shot of vodka and filled up with Motts Clamato juice. Stirred with a pickle and voila! Caesariffic!

    He really is. I shall let him know he’s on cooking duty for one night when you come up then?

  4. Cat

    Boomer bought us some Tequila Rose a few months ago while she was on a mission for some other liquor, and we haven’t tried it yet. I suppose we should, even though it will be WOEFULLY short of chocolate.

    You SHOULD. Tequila Rose is DELICIOUS. I may have to purchase some tomorrow…And then drink the entire bottle by myself, because I probably would end up doing just that.

  5. HG

    And then drink the entire bottle by myself, because I probably would end up doing just that.

    My first thought when Mr.A asked if I wanted some Tequila Rosa Cocoa was, “Yes.” Followed by, “I’ll just put a straw in it.”

Leave a Reply

