The Burgeoning Bounteous Bounty

After the initial excitement of our onions sprouting about ten seconds after we planted them, and then the tomatoes following about fifteen seconds after that, we went through a bit of a lull with our seedlings. The lesson we learned? Peppers are slow to germinate. And our patience has finally paid off — we’ve got habaneros:

habanerosmall.jpg

AND the Nardellos are sprouting too! (Okay, the use of the plural is probably a bit overly optimistic, but whatever.)

nardellosmall1.jpg

Meanwhile, the onions are motoring along:

onionsgrowingsmall.jpg

But they’ve been surpassed as the star seedlings by the crazy-assed tomatoes. The tomatoes are so impressive (and we’re so taken with the light in our seedling window) that we took two pictures of Maple Hoo’s trademarked “using a cake stand as a plant tray” seedling system.

blackplumsgrowingsmall2.jpg

And a little closer:

blackplumsgrowingsmall1.jpg

Those tomato seedlings are totally planning to beat up the Nardello seedlings.

12 Comments

Filed under Garden

12 responses to “The Burgeoning Bounteous Bounty

  1. HG

    Maybe the Nardello seedlings need some soothing music to encourage growth. Or gentle coaxing. Or threats. You know, whatever works.

  2. I’m going to go with threats. Since I personally respond better to threats than I do to gentle coaxing. I’m sure the nardellos are constitutionally very similar to me. (When does your potato project start, speaking of threats?)

  3. I think they’re afraid to grow because they heard that Matsui has a history of eating seedlings.

  4. HG

    I’ve always thought of Nardellos and you together, Schnookie. (It will start in approximately 3 weeks. We have one week of school left and then a week off and then back for 4 days and off for 4 and back for 4, you know, with Easter and whatnot.)

    Is that why the tomatoes are growing so fast? So they can be real plants before Matsui clues in?

  5. I’ve always thought of Nardellos and you together, Schnookie.

    Most people do. :D

    I’m marking my calendar as I write this — T-minus three weeks until the Great Potato Adventure!

    I think the tomatoes are in a panic to build up their Matsui defenses. Before long we’ll find them growing venomous thorns or something.

  6. HG

    I’m marking my calendar as I write this — T-minus three weeks until the Great Potato Adventure!

    Damn. I should have thought of the legal binding capacity of blog comments… :P And now it’s double-power by you writing on your calendar!

    I think the tomatoes are in a panic to build up their Matsui defenses. Before long we’ll find them growing venomous thorns or something.

    Awwww… Do you grow catnip for Matsui?

  7. Damn. I should have thought of the legal binding capacity of blog comments… :P And now it’s double-power by you writing on your calendar!

    HEE HEE! There is NO turning back now!!! Mwahahahahaha!!!!!

    Yes we do grow catnip. Tons of it. It’s kind of hard, once you’ve planted it once, not to grow catnip, because it reseeds like a mofo. :P It’s the one consistently massive crop we have here, and I have an herb-drying rig in our front hall closet that spends most of its time with broom-sized bundles of cut catnip hanging on it to dry. We literally have buckets of homegrown, dried catnip. And the cats — especially Matsui, who ends up looking like she’s been wallpapered with it when we put some on the floor for her — love it. We recently put some of the dried bundles out by our compost bin (because we had way too much) and the stray cats that live in our neighborhood all trotted up about ten seconds later and started spazzing all around the bundles. I grow some really powerful shit. :D

  8. HG

    Maple Hoo is going to turn into a getaway for cats if you keep putting out the catnip. :)

    At the Parliament buildings here there are apparently these “Cat Condos.” I’m not sure if someone built something or has just been feeding these feral cats for years but it’s supposedly crazy. I’m going to check it out when the snow goes. It makes me wonder if the cats get inside and our country is really run by felines. Which would be 1000% kinds of awesome.

  9. Hi,
    One of the most delightful things about my garden is the anticipation it provides

  10. It makes me wonder if the cats get inside and our country is really run by felines. Which would be 1000% kinds of awesome.

    Oh. My. God. That would be the coolest thing EVER! (And seriously, that’s just wild about the cat condos. That’s really awesome, and can’t wait to hear about your first-hand experience with them!)

  11. hgee

    I’ll go take pictures and, of course, create a photo essay.

    (PS: I have a picture and name now.)

  12. I am so impressed by this picture/name combo! It’s like a secret identity!

Leave a Reply

