Is It Summer Yet?

Today I made another cocktail from The Ultimate Bar Book. It’s a Haitian Cooler, and you just put one lemon wedge, two lime wedges, two tangerine wedges and a tablespoon of sugar in the bottom of a glass and muddle it all. Then top with ice, top with two ounces of Rhum Barbancourt (my liquor store doesn’t carry Rhum Barbancourt anymore, so I just used a sugarcane rum from Jamaica), then top that with three to four ounces of ginger beer. Stir, and enjoy. On a gray wintry day in central New Jersey, you can do a lot worse. (And I’d talk about how tasty this is, but based on what went in it, that would hardly be surprising. It just… delicious.)

haitiancoolersmall_edited-1.jpg

(I’ll be honest — I’m kind of wondering what this would taste like if made with a harder-edged rum. It’s soda-sweet as written, and while I’ve got no beef with that, I think it would also be great if it had more bite.)

6 Comments

Filed under Drinky-Drinky

6 responses to “Is It Summer Yet?

  1. Cat

    Must…Drink…This…

  2. HG

    Hmmm… this sounds interesting. I’m going to make IPB Eats my official “to try” list.

  3. HG, I think that’s a great plan. I’ll try to vette every cocktail in the history of mankind (it’s a tough job, but someone has to do it! :D), and let you know which ones to go ahead with. I give this one two hearty thumbs-up!

    Cat, I really think you shouldn’t even bother getting sugarcane rum if you try this. I think just regular rum (light or dark) would be fine with this, albeit less straight lemonade-y.

  4. HG

    I’m glad that you are willing to take on such a task. There will be, um, a great reward at the end.

  5. Cat

    Cat, I really think you shouldn’t even bother getting sugarcane rum if you try this. I think just regular rum (light or dark) would be fine with this, albeit less straight lemonade-y.

    I planned on using a light rum. The sugarcane rum sounds like it might be WAY sweet.

  6. Actually, sugarcane rum isn’t any sweeter than regular rum. It’s just made directly from the sugarcane rather than from the by-products from the molassas-making process like regular rum is. It’s also processed to be a smoother liquor, so it makes this drink a bit more gentle and refined. I’ve now made this with sugarcane rum, cacacha and plain-old, ordinary rum, and I liked it each way. My favorite iteration of it, though, was actually the sugarcane rum, though, which surprised me. That said, you really can’t go wrong any way!

Leave a Reply

