Step 2 In A Week Of Trying

So this week I’m actually making an effort, and have plans to cook some actual, thought-out meals on more than one day. Most weeks I make one reasonably involved dish and six cop-outs. So far this week I’ve done turkey burgers (on a night I went grocery shopping after work, might I add!), and tonight I decided to try Chicken Garlic Bread Soup from the “Daily Soup” cookbook.

This starts out with the garlic bread element of the soup. You cube up a sourdough baguette, toss it with a tablespoon of olive oil, a teaspoon of garlic salt and half a teaspoon of kosher salt, and bake at 300 degrees (F) for 40 minutes.

garlic-bread-croutonssmall.jpg

While the breadmeats are baking, the recipe has some long, convoluted step involving poaching a cut-up chicken in mineral water, and straining it, and skimming it, and cutting up the meat, and skimming off the fat, and blah blah blah. Please. I had a massive pot of chicken stock in the fridge, ready to have its fat skimmed and be parceled into freezable units, so I just set aside six cups of that and used boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into small pieces and sauteed until browned. From there, though, I followed the recipe as written:

Take 1 large Spanish onion (chopped), 2 leeks (chopped and rinsed), 2 ribs of celery (chopped) and 2 cloves of garlic (sliced), and sweat in a few tablespoons of olive oil in large stockpot for about four minutes, until softened. Add 2 teaspoons dried thyme, 2 bay leaves, 2 teaspoons kosher salt, and a generous grinding of black pepper and stir for a couple of minutes. Then add the chicken, the stock, 1 28-oz can of whole tomatoes (drained and chopped) and 1 three-inch piece of Parmesan rind. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer, partially covered, for 20 minutes. Remove the bay leaves and Parmesan rind. To serve, add some croutons to the bowl, let sit for five minutes, and then top with a generous shaving of Parmesan cheese.

chickengarlicbreadsoupsmall.jpg

Now, for some reason, after reading this recipe I thought the soup would be creamy. I have no idea why, but there you go. So I was stunned that it turned out… brothy. And tomato-y. I’m not very smrt. That said, this was insane. So good. So. Good. It was really flavorful but not staggering, and the croutons were crusty enough that they held up really well to the soup even while mopping up the bowl. I realized halfway through my bowl that I was neglecting my wine. And neglecting breathing. I just snarfed this whole thing up and went looking for more. I love this soup.

5 Comments

Filed under Hearty Meals

5 responses to “Step 2 In A Week Of Trying

  1. HG

    That sounds yummy. I was surprised to see that you just throw in a chunk of Parm. Does it melt in a big clump or what?

  2. The Parm gets soft, but it’s the rind, not the actual cheese. If you put in a chunk of just the cheese, yeah, it would totally melt. I’m sure it would be tasty, but… not the same thing. :D

  3. HG

    Right… Going back and actually reading it now I see “rind” after the word “Parmesan”. Just nod and smile at the crazy person, everyone, nod and smile.

  4. Just nod and smile at the crazy person, everyone, nod and smile.

    Aw, HG, it’s okay. I was going to make an excuse for you like, “It’s a hard font to read,” or something like that. I mean, the “rind” in that sentence is very recessive… :P

  5. Pingback: Girding For The Lettuce Onslaught « IPB Living

Leave a Reply

