IPB Gives Thanks… For Dessert

Thanksgiving is, for me, a day of self-indulgence. We don’t entertain (having Kate the Great up from DC doesn’t count), we wear pajamas all day, and this year we ate in front of a hockey game on TV. I love the idea of doing all kinds of stressful, inventive and exciting cooking, but in practice, it’s just not going to happen. For one thing, I want to maximize my four-day weekend by being lazy and unproductive, and for another thing, Pookie and Boomer would kill me if I deviated from our traditional menu. So this year I didn’t bother trying to sneak anything tricky onto our holiday table, and got fancy with just the dessert: Salted Caramel Cheesecakes.

Cheesecake

I made this recipe a few years ago when it was first published in Food + Wine, and it was awesome. Crazy simple (there are only, like, 10 ingredients total), completely non-labor-intensive, and very impressive in execution, it’s an idiot-proof yet totally holiday-appropriate recipe. Of course I couldn’t find my small ramekins, so instead of making six normal-sized individual cheesecakes I ended up with four huge ones. After a massive turkey dinner, there’s nothing like a bucket of rich, sumptuous caramel and cheesecake to make you feel streamlined and light. But even though we were all well past the point where we felt we couldn’t possibly dream of eating another bite, it was well worth it. These cheesecakes rocked.

14 Comments

Filed under Fancy Dessert

14 responses to “IPB Gives Thanks… For Dessert

  1. HG

    Oh sweet heaven in a ramekin! You must pass this recipe along! You must!

  2. The recipe is linked, right there before the picture! (I know, I know, it’s hard to see the links in this template…)

  3. HG

    Oh yes, I did see that. My brain melted shortly after because this looks sooooooo yummy

  4. Hee! I can’t stress enough how idiot-proof this is, too. It seems so impressive, and yet… it’s so not. :D

  5. HG

    I’m going to be trying it for Christmas Eve. There. I said it. I’ll send HR out for ramekins.

  6. Great plan! Because these are a bit of a make-ahead thing (albeit a CRAZY EASY one), I also had to publicly commit to them to force myself to make them. If I’d kept my plans to myself I’d never have put together the get-up-and-go to mix them up the night before Thanksgiving.

  7. HG

    Well, even if I don’t get them done for Christmas Eve as my flight arrives the day before, I’ll do them for New Year’s Eve. It definitely seems like an “Eve”-type dessert.

  8. Definitely an “Eve” dessert. Like, Monday Eve. Tuesday Eve. Wednesday Eve…

  9. HG

    Hmmm… Good point. To celebrate Saturday Eve here this weekend, Mr.A made his egg nog concoction and uh… WOW! That was some tasty goodness in a glass! I think it would go nicely with the “Eve” dessert.

  10. Oh that’s right! The egg nog concoction! I’m so glad it was as good as it sounds! (We had a few new cocktails here this weekend. A “Dark and Stormy”, which is rum and ginger beer [it was supposed to have lime, too, but I didn’t have any], and a “Boston Creme Martini”, which is vodka, bailey’s and a dash of vanilla. I highly recommend both, although the Boston Creme Martini only if you’re not shy about girly drinks…)

  11. HG

    It was good. The second batch was better. (I have no problems with girly drinks. I’m thinking that vanilla vodka would be good in the Boston Creme Martini, eh? And the other one sounds yummy. I like ginger beer. Did you use dark rum or light?)

  12. I used dark rum in the Dark and Stormy. The recipe called for Barbados rum, and I only had Jamaican. I have no idea if there’s really a difference, or if they’re just trying to get me to fork out for more liquor. Vanilla vodka would be DELICIOUS in the Boston Creme martini, though! I need to try that next time!

  13. I used dark rum in the Dark and Stormy. The recipe called for Barbados rum, and I only had Jamaican. I have no idea if there’s really a difference, or if they’re just trying to get me to fork out for more liquor. Vanilla vodka would be DELICIOUS in the Boston Creme martini, though! I need to try that next time!

  14. HG

    So… it would be DELICIOUS? :P

Leave a Reply

