Rhode Island Red




Rhode Island Red

Originally uploaded by interchangeableparts

Today was one of those “yoeman’s work” kind of days: fence painting (still!), harvesting potatoes, clearing out garden beds, planting fall crops, moving crap around in the yard, making trips across town to tend to my catsitting charges — basically it was summery, rigorous and ultimately exhausting. So I did what any civilized person should do when confronted with a day like this — I made a cocktail called a “Rhode Island Red”. The recipe came out of one of those “Food & Wine” annual cocktail compilations, and it was a heavenly, refreshing, blissful combination of muddled raspberries, silver tequila, chambord, lemon juice and simple syrup, all topped off with a generous splash of ginger beer. I ended up actually diluting this with a fair deal of the ginger beer, so the drink had a little bit of a kick, but would hardly leave anyone under the bar. Pookie commented while sipping this in front of some Katamari that it tasted, in the best possible way, like it should come out of a juice box. As we both giggled at the thought of Buster getting trashed on boxed wine in “Arrested Development”, I realized that this cocktail tastes exactly like what I always wished juice would taste like when I was a kid.

2 Comments

Filed under Drinky-Drinky

2 responses to “Rhode Island Red

  1. HG

    I realized that this cocktail tastes exactly like what I always wished juice would taste like when I was a kid.

    I wish juice tasted like this now. I wish I still had my Kool-Aid Man shaped juice jug with matching Kool-Aid Man shaped cups to drink it out of.

  2. We’ll have to find something like that to chug our drinks out of when we get together. Is there still time to hunt a few down on ebay before the HLOG I-95 Convention?

Leave a Reply

