An Important Announcement About Gardening

I was getting all ready to start putting together posts about our recent awesome vacation in Dallas, but then something amazing happened that is putting the organization of our (kick-ass) pictures on hold. Look at this:

Inadvertent Harvest

Dozens of frying peppers, ranging from zesty green to sweet red! Buckets of spicy purple peppers! A surprising handful of basil! And underneath that all, quarts of fresh tomatillos! This was what we shook off the plants in our garden today when we started in on the end-of-season plant removal from the beds. This is a garden that we have literally been neglecting for the last six weeks. Literally. We haven’t watered, or trimmed, or weeded, or pruned, or anything. We walked away, and when we came back, this stuff was waiting for us.

Tomatillos

Perhaps even more significantly, we hadn’t even planted tomatillos this year. Or the year before. Or the year before that. They just sprung up out of the dirt, and because we were neglecting the garden, they were perfectly content just to hum along bearing fruit with nary a care in the world. And this leads me to an important announcement: apparently you can do literally nothing and still successfully grow vegetables. Whenever I hear someone remark that gardening is difficult, or that we have some kind of special skills or wizardry to draw the bounteous bounty from our front yard, my response tends to be “pish posh! I have no idea what I’m doing, and it still works!” But here is proof. If you have dirt and you introduce — in any way at all, even in theoretically inert seeds from years-old compost — vegetable plants to that dirt, you can garden. Nature just wants shit to grow, you know?

[Posted by Schnookie]

4 Comments

Filed under Bonanza!, Garden, Harvested, Lessons Learned, We Grew This

4 responses to “An Important Announcement About Gardening

  1. Sarah

    I subscribe to that theory, too, and then am disappointed when, in fact, my shit does not grow. That said, I keep thinking I need to get outside and pull everything out but I am getting a nice little pile of tomatilloes. I had no idea they would not ready until so late in the season, did you??

  2. I was also stunned that our tomatillos were still going strong this late in the game, Sarah. I guess there’s something to be said for how warm this fall has been (we’re still getting tomatoes from the farm, for goodness sake).

    And I suppose it should be noted for the record that plenty of our shit doesn’t grow either. I mean, it’s easy to grow vegetables. It’s just hard to grow the vegetables you think you’re growing. :P

  3. euge

    I love how you got your tomatillos. I hope that happens to my garden – my mom’s been dumping all random veggie/fruit trimmings (including seeds) into the compost bin the past year. Perhaps a random pepper or tomato plant will pop up next year!

    Also, saw that you harvested the whole sprig of basil (including the flowering part). How do you keep it, or do you use it all when its fresh?

  4. Perhaps a random pepper or tomato plant will pop up next year!

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you! (I’d be very optimistic on the tomato front. We always have tomatoes growing where we don’t want them, although normally from the plants we’d put in the previous year [or year before. ::glares at the ineradicable yellow pear tomatoes::]. But this year we also got a little never-before-planted-in-our-garden orange currant tomato. It got choked out by the tomatillo, though.)

    I just use the basil fresh for the most part. When we have tons and tons of it from the farm I’ll sometimes plan ahead by just buzzing it in the food processor with some olive oil and freezing it in an ice cube tray, so I’ve got little pellets of basil to drop into sauces and soups in the wintertime. But that always seems like a lot of work, so I don’t do a lot of it, and tend to forget about my basil pellets as winter wears on.

Leave a Reply

