Daily Archives: November 29, 2009

Using A Muffin Tin To Change Our Lives

So the other day I was poking around the New York Times online, killing time, and for some reason, I decided to check out an article in the food section about Thanksgiving side dish recipes. I already knew what I wanted to make for Thanksgiving, so it wasn’t even like I thought I was open to new ideas. But it must have been fate. Because what I found there rocked my world:

They suggested baking stuffing in muffin tins.

Stuffins

I am never not going to bake my Thanksgiving/Christmas stuffing in muffin tins. NEVER. You get perfect little serving sizes of stuffing encased completely in crunchy edges, and they’re just tailor-made for snacking on as cold leftovers. All I did was put a little dab of butter on the top of each stuffing muffin, gently poured a tablespoon of turkey stock over each (per the NYT suggestion, and chicken broth would work fine here), and then baked for about 45 minutes at 350. I think they would have been crustier if I’d baked them for a shorter time in a 375-degree oven, and I’ll be finding out how that works in just a few weeks. The highlight of Christmas foodstuffs at Maple Hoo has always been the mimosas, but this year I think the stuffing muffins (or “stuffins”, as we ended up calling them after finishing off a bottle of champagne) might be the king of the holiday menu.

[Posted by Schnookie]

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized